DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Replacing Potterton Room Stat

This topic originated from the Wiki page called How to replace a room stat
Click here to return to the page called How to replace a room stat.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jeremyb123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Location: Berkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 3:50 pm Reply with quote

The existing Potterton room stat has stopped working, and when the radiators come on they are boiling hot.So when I\\\'ve gone to replace the stat, I\\\'ve noticed that the existing one , as well as live & neutral, has a H for heating, which my replacement does not have, it just has a terminal for L & N, the three, numbered 1,2 & 3. Do I need to replace the stat with a Potterton like for like ?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
gas4you

from United Kingdom

Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 17630
Location: Norfolk,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 756 times

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 5:16 pm Reply with quote

Neutral will remain the same, Live will be live from programmer/timeswitch and the 'heating' will be the switched live from the new stat back to the zone valve or pump. Instructions with new stat should tell you what switched live is.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ricicle

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Posts: 6308
Location: Gloucestershire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 377 times

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 5:49 pm Reply with quote

The room stat does not control the temperature of water in the rads.That is the job of a stat on the boiler.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Jeremyb123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Location: Berkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:08 pm Reply with quote

gas4you wrote:
Neutral will remain the same, Live will be live from programmer/timeswitch and the 'heating' will be the switched live from the new stat back to the zone valve or pump. Instructions with new stat should tell you what switched live is.


Thanks.
I've replaced the stat with the Potterton model the supplier said, so all works fine....... except that whenever I put the hot water on, on it's own, the radiators come on as well ????
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Steve3948

from United Kingdom

Joined: 10 Oct 2007
Posts: 152
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 7:26 pm Reply with quote

ricicle wrote:
The room stat does not control the temperature of water in the rads.That is the job of a stat on the boiler.


It does control the temperature of the water in the rads by opening and closing the 3 or 2 Port Valve.

The boiler stat controls the temperature of the water in the main flow and return.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Steve3948

from United Kingdom

Joined: 10 Oct 2007
Posts: 152
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 7:31 pm Reply with quote

Jeremyb123 wrote:
gas4you wrote:
Neutral will remain the same, Live will be live from programmer/timeswitch and the 'heating' will be the switched live from the new stat back to the zone valve or pump. Instructions with new stat should tell you what switched live is.


Thanks.
I've replaced the stat with the Potterton model the supplier said, so all works fine....... except that whenever I put the hot water on, on it's own, the radiators come on as well ????


This could be a 3 or 2 Port valve problem, with a micro switch stuck or broken, unless it's a combi.

Do you know what system you have, Combi, Y-Plan, S-Plan, C-Plan ?????
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
How do I connect a room stat to a Potterton Performa 24 HE? 3 60 Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:49 am
Alternative to the Potterton PRT2 Room stat 7 1180 Sun Nov 02, 2008 12:07 am
Replacing my Potterton PRT2 thermostat 2 520 Mon Oct 04, 2010 2:55 pm
Potterton Fused Neutral? 16 1340 Fri Feb 26, 2010 12:01 am
Potterton 2002 Central Heating programmer 6 560 Thu Feb 25, 2010 7:50 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.