expansion vessel

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
have a glowworm compact combi boiler(approx. 5yo).... constantly losing pressure ... topping up every day.... have been advised probable pressure release valve but more likely expansion vessel problem.... Can i check it . If so how do i go about it and are there any special tools required... I am quite handy and dont mind complex jobs.

Sponsored Links
All you need regards to access and pressure will be in the manufacturer's instructions. When you get to the car tyre type valve on the expansion vessel and remove the cap if any water comes out you need a replacement the diaphragm will be split. It may just require charging which is just a case of pumping it back up to the stated pressure with a normal footpump. If your pressure relief has blown and still dripping even slightly it will need replacement.

i am not a heating engineer, but basically expansion vessel is a ballon in a tin, it has a car tyre valve on it, press it if water comes out its had it, if not treat as a tyre, but dont blow it up to 28psi, it only goes to a couple of psi, try a search on this froum for expansion vessel

ollski said:
All you need regards to access and pressure will be in the manufacturer's instructions. When you get to the car tyre type valve on the expansion vessel and remove the cap if any water comes out you need a replacement the diaphragm will be split. It may just require charging which is just a case of pumping it back up to the stated pressure with a normal footpump. If your pressure relief has blown and still dripping even slightly it will need replacement.

Just to clarify if pipe outside is dripping is it more likely to be pressure relief valve.... or is order of checking vessel first then prv second?..... thank you for your prompt responses....
Are these components expensive to replace?

Sponsored Links