DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

help me wire my cooker i'm starving


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
scotsgirl

from United Kingdom

Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Location: Edinburgh,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:56 pm Reply with quote

i have purchased an indesit 4 ceramic hob cooker,it says it requires a min H05RR-F SECTION 3X4MM2,I went along to b&q they sold me a twin&earth grey 10mm2 2metrs cable,but i was then toldit would go on fire,is this cable safe. icon_rolleyes.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Chivers7

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Jan 2007
Posts: 276
Location: Surrey,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 10:06 pm Reply with quote

depends how close the cooker is going to get to the cable but I'd say no without knowing all the details.

Is it a built in jobby?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
scotsgirl

from United Kingdom

Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Location: Edinburgh,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 10:10 pm Reply with quote

its just a normal standalone cooker,with 4 hobs and an oven,the cooker will be right next to the box on the wall,it will only need about half a meter,i was going to cut half a meter off and wire the 10mm up between the cooker and box on the wall.any ideas icon_question.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 36242
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1288 times

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 10:40 pm Reply with quote

use the rest of it to give you enough slack to pull out the cooker and clean behind it witthout wrenching the cable out of the wall.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
scotsgirl

from United Kingdom

Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Location: Edinburgh,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 10:50 pm Reply with quote

so does that mean the cable is ok? i will leave some spare,so all i do is connect it from the black box on the cooker to the small box on the wall?is that right-it wont blow up will it?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 36242
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1288 times

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 10:55 pm Reply with quote

the manufactueres have advised a rubber flexible cord of 4mm conductors, yours is not very flexible but the cores are more than twice the size of the recomendations so are certainly not going to overheat. You need Green&Yellow sheathing for the earth wire which you will find is bare copper.

Lots of people use PVC T&E and I;m not aware of any reason why you shouldn't. Run it with wide curves not tight bends.

This translates the cable code:

Back to top
 Alert Moderators
securespark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 24897
Location: Cheshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 424 times

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 10:58 pm Reply with quote

Edited:

ArrrgggggHHHH!!!!
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 36242
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1288 times

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:01 pm Reply with quote

That's funny, I'm sure Mrs Secure commented that you were usually much quicker than me icon_wink.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
scotsgirl

from United Kingdom

Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Location: Edinburgh,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:03 pm Reply with quote

i dont know i dont understand that diagram,i dont thinkit has green and white sheathing,does that mean i cant use it...and i before you ask i aint blonde
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 36242
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1288 times

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:08 pm Reply with quote

No, I mean you can buy a metre of G&Y sheathing for about 50p, which you slide over the exposed copper earth wire in your cable, so it can't accidentally touch any other terminals.

When you strip off the outer sheathing you will find one brown (phase or "live") one blue (neutral) and one bare copper (earth) wire inside it.

The chart tells you that the "R" in your cable spec mean Rubber, and the "F" means fine copper strands.

You have been given PVC insulated and insulated cable, with quite thick copper strands, so it is not very flexible but will be OK.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
scotsgirl

from United Kingdom

Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Location: Edinburgh,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:21 pm Reply with quote

oh brilliant,i get what your saying now,thanks very much i will go back to b&q tomorrow and get some.what a life,this cooker has caused me so many problems.watch this space to find out the outcome tomorrow.lol
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
securespark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 24897
Location: Cheshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 424 times

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:59 pm Reply with quote

JohnD wrote:
That's funny, I'm sure Mrs Secure commented that you were usually much quicker than me icon_wink.gif


I didn't know you & she had met!!
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
New cooker / hob wire 5 600 Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:49 pm
Redundent Raidal for eletric cooker, can I wire in f/f d/w? 8 820 Tue Oct 03, 2006 9:20 am
HELP!! Trying to wire in my cooker 3 760 Fri Nov 03, 2006 10:33 am
How do I extend a cooker wire? 3 740 Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:13 pm
Help - Wiring up an electric cooker, has no wire from cooker 6 2300 Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:09 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.