MCB and wires

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi!

I have a fairly old looking consumer unit. We had a shower fitted a while ago and and MCB was used. We now have unit with 1 MCB and 5 regular wire fuses. I have been advised to replace these wires with MCBs. The question / problem is that the wire fuses I have are 3 and 30 and 2 at 5 but the modern MCBs don't come in this level the closest is a 32 and a 6 I think. Is this a problem or should I be using something different.

Thanks for any help!
Emma

Sponsored Links
In general you can use 6 amp MCBs and 32 amp MCBs to replace 5 amp fuses and 30 amp fuses respectively.

Remember that old consumer units are not RCD protected, and that you should use an RCD of either the plug in variety, or an RCD protected socket/switch for anything outside.

i'm no expert :) but i think there is a difference in the units used to measure them - i think imperial and Renard where for eg imperial is 15A and Renard is 16A...

Is your unit Wylex or Proteus?

If Wylex you can used Wylex range of mcb's (B6, B10, B16, B20, B32)

If your board has a main switch of rating less than 100A, you should not install any circuit greater than 32A. If you have, then a board change is recommended. Well, I recommend a board change anyway, but recognise that this is not always practical for whatever reason.

However, if the existing set-up is dangerous - and if you have a board with main switch <100A and a circuit >32A it is, then change it should.

Cannot speak for Proteus, but based on Wylex so should accept Wylex plug-in breakers. GE also make "mini-trip" mcb's that fit Wylex.

Sponsored Links
Thanks for the guidence. I think my unit does have and RDC (is that the big switch with On/Off). I'm not sure of the make but its black with catridges containing the wires.

MCBs are the right thing to use on this arent they?

On the basis of what you've written so far I'd suggest you get an electrician in to give it the once-over.