Hot water from overflow.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Would really like some idea of this problem before calling in engineer.
I have fairly new oil fired central heating system installed (4yrs). Now hot water is coming out of the overflow,not dripping pouring.Can stop this by turning hot water tap for a while,but it soon comes back. Can anyone please give me some idea how to proceed. Thank you. :(

Sponsored Links
Roguemale, I'm no expert but, even if I was, you'd need to provide more detail. Is this a combi boiler or open vented system? What make/model? Which overflow?

You cannot expect people to help you without helping them.

Over to someone else.

Is the feed and expansion tank higher than the cold water storage (f&e=little tank )

If so could be the coil within the hot water cylinder is holed.

does you hot water look clean?

does the ballvalve in the bigger tank run all the time?

I cant think of another explaination as the water in the cws tank should not be hot??

I have a similiar / same problem, I have an open vented hot water system heated by a heat exchanger from the boiler. The heat exchanging system is venting into it's feed + expansion tank when hot water is swiched on at the timer (which I think it is supposed to?). The water is not being drawn away quickly enough (it is being drawn away as I can feel the other pipe moving) though and because of this it is going out through the overflow pipe. Any idea what could cause this?

PS.
The bottom of my f&e tank is level with the bottom of the cold water tank - they both sit on the same piece of wood. Hot water looks clean. Ball valve is dripping but only slightly - fixing this separately.

Sponsored Links