building home furniture using oak sleepers (advice please)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hello forum.

I am planning on building a tv stand, a coffee table and two lamp stands using new untreated oak sleepers of size 2400mm x 200mm x 100mm.

I have made some designs to follow however im a very amateur DIY'er and i am seeking any and all advice.

I work in a school so I have access to some decent woodwork tools that the wood technicians are trained to use. Im not sure what these tools are all called but i can certainly check and get back to you.

My plan (please critique or suggest moving steps around):
Cut sleepers to desired size (using circular saw thing at school)
Clamp pieces into position
drill pilot holes to same diameter as screws (using corded drill and extra long drill bit)
fix pieces together using 140mm wood screws (using corded drill)
sand visible surfaces where appropriate
apply hard wax oil.

Thanks for taking the time to read

i would love if someone could recommend some cheap screws that will give it a rustic look.. like the screws here:

http://vkvasov.blogspot.co.uk/2011/08/diy-project-oak-beam-garden-furniture_25.html

Sponsored Links
You will need to plane the timber , sanding will take forever to achieve a smooth surface.
You will need to season the oak indoors, my coffee table shrunk nearly 20mm across it's width [could take months if the timber has been stored in the wet]. Due to the weight I left all components loose and just use velcro and the shear weight to stop the top moving on the legs.
Finished with oil and wax.

Looks great.
You'll need a pallet truck to shift it though.

Sponsored Links
thanks for taking the time to read and reply
Nickjb those screws look great and i suppose i could get wood this week and store it somwhere dry at work until i do the project at the end of may.

do you guys think im better off planing the wood before cutting it and assembling it, and should i plane all sides or just surfaces?

thanks again