Coffee Table Restoration

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Having recently bought a house ive become the owner of the following coffee table. its a bit knocked about and looking at it it looks abit cheap, however i wouldn't mind having a go at trying to make it good again, and look in place in a more modern home.

It looks like it might be some kind or mdf with a veneer, Can anyone tell me if they think its worth having a go at?

I was thinking about sanding it down and trying to lighten the colour or painting it.

any suggestions would be great as im a complete beginner.

thanks

2014-06-30222257.jpg

2014-06-30222306.jpg

2014-06-30222314.jpg

2014-06-30222318.jpg

2014-06-30222322.jpg

2014-06-30222437.jpg

2014-06-30222443.jpg

2014-06-30222450.jpg

2014-06-30222457.jpg

2014-06-30222528.jpg

2014-06-30222535.jpg

if i can make anything of it, i may take the gold glass surrounds out and spray them black or silver as the gold wont really work in the room.

Sponsored Links
It looks solid enough if you are happy with a slightly distressed look it's worth a try. Main problem will be getting an even colour where the scratches have gone deep or through to the board beneath.

Try a used teabag on some of the worst areas and see if it helps to blend them in.

If it works a light sand and some clear satin varnish might spruce it up a bit. ;)

I was wondering if i could cover the top in a thin veneer of some wood or other say 3 or 5mm thick piece. something along the lines of glue it on, then cut out the wholes for the glass, then use some of the cut out to lift the glass back to the correct height.

would give the top a routed look. the rest of the table doesn't look too... bad.

if i could refinish it somehow

I suppose its probably not work it and would be better painted if not binned

Sponsored Links
I'd lift out the glass and hit the top with a belt sander, then random orbital down to 600 grit.
Then re-rout the sides.
Then hand sand the rest and varnish.