Garden Playhouse Project

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I bought some plans for a Cedar playhouse from the states a couple of years ago and finally got round to starting it in the spring. Although its been difficult to get the hours in with the weather!

Have used redwood instead of cedar as my budget wouldn't stretch quite far enough but here are a few pics of progress so far. Hoping to finish it in the next few weeks.

I also have bought cedar shingles for the roof but am struggling to find any nails short enough to fix them in place with as the roofing board is only 12mm thick, any suggestions? May just end up pre-drilling and screwing them in at this rate...

Any feedback welcome as im a bit of a novice at this sort of thing as much as I enjoy it!

Sponsored Links
Very nice, put a door on it PDQ or you will find a group of immigrants move in :)

Haha yes you're not wrong! Door is ready just undecided on the best hinges to go for...decisions decisions!

Sponsored Links
I have to say I totally underestimated how long it would take!

Around 80-100 hours so far...

And about £300ish. Used 21mm TGV cladding that I got very cheap off eBay, the rest of the structure is cls studwork timber and I have cedar shingles for the roof.

Got the architrave on round the doors and windows at the weekend, wanted to do more but the weather has been so rotten!

Thanks, it's pretty solid, told the other half we can't move house for at least 10 years as there's no way you could move it without a crane!

Will post up some more pics when finished, hopefully a couple of weeks weather permitting!

Hi Luke, please see my previous reply re: cost/time. Hard to say exactly as I just do an hour here and there when I have the time and when it's dry!

I sent the cutting list from the plans to a local timber merchant and they costed it at about £500, but have managed to reduce that by sourcing myself from eBay and checking prices in b&q, wickes etc