5E data cable run

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Mark 9002, 19 Sep 2021.

  1. Mark 9002

    Mark 9002

    Joined:
    10 Jun 2018
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure if I should be posting in Computing forum or here.
    I have to run a Cat5e data cable from my router to Dinning room extension. Part of the run would be through a pantry cupboard from floor through ceiling ( about 2.4m height ) alongside a 2.5mm T&E Radial that only feeds the upstairs Immersion heater from consumer unit.
    Would this be ok ?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    5,880
    Thanks Received:
    455
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd do it and expect it to be OK.
    Others will possibly start quoting interference problems. but a lot will depend on if the immersion is running

    Leave plenty of gap between them if it's easy.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Mark 9002

    Mark 9002

    Joined:
    10 Jun 2018
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for reply. Problem is that they will have to be right beside each other just for the vertical run in the cupboard. The 2.5mm T&E is in plastic conduit for the run up the cupboard but dunno if this makes any difference
     
  5. FrodoOne

    FrodoOne

    Joined:
    20 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    520
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    While I have no idea as to the answer to this question vis-à-vis UK regulations, in Australia the adjacent (separated) "run" would be allowed but any such "run" within the same "penetration" of a "stud"/"noggin"/"joist" etc. would not be permitted, unless the external insulation on the "Extra Low Voltage" cable was rated at the "Low" (230 V) Voltage required.
    "Low Voltage" and "Extra Low Voltage" insulated cables must be separated, as required in the jurisdictions concerned.

    Any "induction" problems which became apparent would be yours and yours to fix.
     
    Last edited: 19 Sep 2021
  6. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    5,880
    Thanks Received:
    455
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wouldn't put the cat 5 in the same trunking (unless you purchase cat5 rated for 300V) but right beside should be fine.


    To demonstrat the point this cable: https://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Produc...U83GGoxlSLWUmOIdO83G3H6lNVkCTe3AaAmWkEALw_wcB
    is available.
     
  7. FrodoOne

    FrodoOne

    Joined:
    20 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    520
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Which is "interesting", in comparison with Post #4
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    5,880
    Thanks Received:
    455
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've used this type of cable a few times, more of the flexible types than that linked.

    To date I've not been aware of a single problem.
     
  10. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,839
    Thanks Received:
    4,261
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    It must be a pretty narrow cupboard.
     
  11. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    10,112
    Thanks Received:
    2,039
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, there won't be any interference problems and there is no issue with rated voltage either, as the immersion cable isn't single insulated.
     
  12. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    5,880
    Thanks Received:
    455
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not in the same trunking though.
     
  13. chivers67

    chivers67

    Joined:
    18 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't think he intends to place it in the same trunking just near it. I ran screened Cat5 to my Garden room.
     
  14. Mark 9002

    Mark 9002

    Joined:
    10 Jun 2018
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All, Thanks for the Input. I don't intend to put it in the same conduit as T&E. And to answer the comment about small cupboard, its actually quite a large space, but the only place I can get a cable through from under the floor and fish it out on the next floor up is where the T&E is routed. I'll crack on and do it anyway once the kit comes home from ebay. Its actually to put a RJ45 socket to the smart TV to try and get better signal without messing around with Wifi boosters ect and leave wifi clear for other uses. We seldom use the immersion, but once fitted up I'll try with the Immersion switched on and if its crap, isolate the immersion at CU to see if that makes a difference. If it does then I'll have to think of another route
     
Loading...

Share This Page