Accenta 8 Zone

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by rob8506, 1 Dec 2010.

  1. rob8506

    rob8506

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    Finally got round to adding a couple of PIR's to alarm panel on Sunday, they were wired to zones 5 & 6. The walk test found them and the red LED's started flashing.

    I had assumed they were ok however, when the system was set the new PIR's did not trigger the system. Have I missed something?

    I would be very grateful if anyone could help/comment, even if it is to question my ability.

    Regards

    Rob
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Alarm

    Alarm

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    8,965
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    One of two things have happened here.
    1, You removed links and wired into the terminals
    2, You wired direct into the treminals

    In both cases the zones were programmed as not used/spare wotever.
    Now you have to programme them in. I assume you have the engineers code and manuals.
     
  4. rob8506

    rob8506

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Alarm

    Thank you for the reply, I have the engineers code and manuals.

    Disregarding the power and tamper wires, I took a pair of wires from the PIR to the terminals for each zone.

    Should Zones not in be linked or looped? ie short circuit.

    I will go back and read the manual in detail, clearly missing a step in the programming, it is a good while since i installed it originally.

    Just don't remember, programming the zones originally, other than to give them a name.

    Regards

    Rob
     
  5. Alarm

    Alarm

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    8,965
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    One pair to each alarm circuit for each detector. You can series the power and tampers. For correct zone identification one pair for each alarm cct.
    Or series but unless you have a latching facility you will not know which one has triggered.

    In good practise you would link out unused zones, but as long as they are programmed out they will not react.

    You probably deselected them when you last programmed.
     
  6. lectriclegs

    lectriclegs

    Joined:
    24 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    dont series the power :eek:
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. Alarm

    Alarm

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    8,965
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Daisy chain, parallel?
    Sorry have this argument all the time with people who say series or parallel.


    I would prefer parrallel. As I get nagged to death I said series.
    Cannot win can I, and this is from approved sparkies.
     
  9. Metecal

    Metecal

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Engineer Code -> 'Prog' ->

    '1' - Shows enabled zones. Press the keypad buttons to enable/disable each zone. Status is reflected on the LEDs.

    '2' - Shows the entry zones. Press the keypad buttons to enable/disable each zone as an entry zone. Status is reflected on the LEDs.

    '3' - Shows the exit zones. Press the keypad buttons to enable/disable each zone as an exit zone. Status is reflected on the LEDs.

    The difference between series and parallel is basic, even an old man like you should know!
     
  10. rob8506

    rob8506

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Metecal et al

    Thank you for the replys and advice.

    I have taken a seperate cable back to the panel for each PIR/Sensor. Part of the reason for doing it myself so I could route cables where i wanted them rather then just next to the carpet grip strip.

    Metecal

    Thank you for highlighting my missing step in the programming, will get on it and let you know the outcome.

    Regards

    Rob
     
  11. Alarm

    Alarm

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    8,965
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good luck.
     
  12. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page