Accenta G3 question

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by opge, 1 Jul 2020.

  1. opge

    opge

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all
    Possible daft question, so apologies in advance.

    I'm trying to work out how to correctly include the front door in our alarm setup. Right now, when the alarm is set and the door is opened the alarm starts a regular beeping from the console, but doesn't actually go off until one of the sensors is activated. I thought this was the time delay thing to allow you out of the house, but I just tested it and the beeping just goes on and the alarm doesn't trigger.

    Now, we obviously need it set to some sort of timer to allow you to get out of the house and close the door, but I'd love to have it set so that the alarm triggers once the door is opened and no code is entered after a period of time.

    I have the manual, and I think it's related to how 'zone 1' is set up, I just can't for the life of me work out how to do it!

    Any help gratefully received - cheers
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,510
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its the entry route, it is supposed to work that way, other wise each time you enter the house when system is set the alarm would go off.

    I would have to look at the manual, but you maybe able to make the front door activate on a night site by programming one of the other programs up.

    believe it has 3 programs 1, 2 and 3 the default one being full set(program 1).
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. opge

    opge

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. Aunsh

    Aunsh

    Joined:
    2 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Assuming you have the door sensor connected to Zone 1, then you need to set the zone to 'timed' and the entry and exit times to the required delay time.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. opge

    opge

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Aunush. Page 10 of the manual has the default settings, and that is how it should be set up. I wonder if it has somehow been overwritten.
    If I look at the logic, I think the following should check zone 1 is as you suggest (within program 1) per page 15:

    Prog - Ecode - Prog - 1 - 2 - ensure that zone 1 is highlighted - exit

    If not

    Prog - Ecode - Prog - 1 - 4 - 0 - 3 - reset - reset - reset - reset (to set entry time to 30 secs)
    Prog - Ecode - Prog - 1 - 5 - 0 - 3 - reset - reset - reset - reset (to set exit time to 30 secs)

    What do you guys think?
    Really appreciate the help on this :)
     
  7. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,510
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What is it you actually need to achieve?

    When the alarm is set the entry time is started when you open the entry door (Zone 1 on most systems).
    Exit time is designed so when you set the system at the keypad the exit timer starts, you open the door close the door and the exit time expires and the system sets.

    This is correct operation and the only way to test it is to make sure that it behaves as it should including the point the timer expires.

    The alarm wont go off internally or external until this entry has expired, or another zone triggered that isn't a entry zone or walk through(inhibited zone).

    It can that get further complicated as some panels follow entry stray logic, this allows you to trigger another zone during entry without triggering the main alarm activation during entry, don't believe this panel does.
     
  8. opge

    opge

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the reply. To summarise, I would like the alarm to go off after the door is opened and the disarm code is not entered after a defined period of time.

    Essentially this covers the scenario where someone forces the door and obtains entry to the house this way.
     
  9. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,510
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    okay that is the default programming of the system to be fair.

    So guessing you have been playing around with the settings?

    so if your in front of the keypad now, do you want to go through this step by step to see how its currently working?
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,510
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have some time spare now to go through this with you
     
  12. opge

    opge

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah - I thought that is how it should work. I actually haven't messed with it at all, just for fear of mucking it all up!

    And yes, I am free to take a look at it now
     
  13. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,510
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay do you have a stopwatch?
    Is there only you in the house?
     
  14. opge

    opge

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I do have a stopwatch
    There are other people in the house, but they are controllable ;)
     
  15. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,510
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no kids then....lol

    okay get the stop watch and get everyone to remain still.
    start the setting of the system but do not leave the keypad but you must stay still or out of the detection range of the pir if there is one near by, but ideally can see the keypad.

    start the timer running on the stop watch

    we are attempting to confirm the exit timer and if there are any faults preventing arming

    need to know how you set the alarm ie code or quick set
     
  16. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,510
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    did the system set after 30 seconds, 1 minute or still waiting?
     
  17. opge

    opge

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok - when setting for nightime I do the following:

    alarm code - omit - 6 - set - set
    this disables the upstairs detector and arms the system

    do you want me to do this, or do the same but without quick set, ie

    alarm code - omit - 6 - wait for double beeps to end
     
Loading...

Share This Page