1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Active LED

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by Rekusu, 12 Jan 2012.

  1. Alarm

    Alarm

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    8,965
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So creating a tamper, which generally removes the power from the sounder thus cutting in the SAB unit can be disabled from the keypad?

    When the bell trigger has not been activated, so a code entry is going to do diddly squat.

    Pretty standard for any sounder.
    Now some have a special way of silencing for engineering purposes but this is not one of them.

    What make have you got?

    Not having a pop, just curious as to why this happens to yours. As its not right.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Rekusu

    Rekusu

    Joined:
    8 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll have a look in the manual but there surely is a way to deactivate the alarm in Engineer mode for checking and maintenance?

    Rex
     
  4. LooPrEvil

    LooPrEvil

    Joined:
    23 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    1,636
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Anglesey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have a look at my alternative suggestion (see last post).
     
  5. Alarm

    Alarm

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    8,965
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dont bother, you can silence the panel with the engineers code.
    Not the sounder.

    Its made that way for a reason.

    Other makes as I have indicated and much newer BTW have ways and means of stopping activations on a service visit.
    Not this puppy.
     
  6. LooPrEvil

    LooPrEvil

    Joined:
    23 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    1,636
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Anglesey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    NB Rex, I am advising from a DIYers perspective, but Alarm will advise from an experts perspective so his knowledge is 2nd to none. I would trigger the alarm and then do the necessary work - probably not the best way but it will work!
     
  7. Alarm

    Alarm

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    8,965
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You have not said what sounder you have though.
     
  8. Rekusu

    Rekusu

    Joined:
    8 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's a G4 Accenta panel with a RESON8 bell box

    Rex
     
  9. Alarm

    Alarm

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    8,965
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry was talking to Loops.


    I know what you have and the bell is going to ring whatever you try.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Rekusu

    Rekusu

    Joined:
    8 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just looking at the sounder instruction sheet and seems that I should open the box, alarm will be activated and switch the battery link to disable.

    However, looking at the illustration, the relevant LEDs are mounted on the front of the board, so don't image that they have been bent. They are probably low output, alternating red and green, behind the blue cover, so from a distance, their visual output is next to zero.

    Rex
     
  12. Alarm

    Alarm

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    8,965
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well spotted batman.
    Just looked myself.

    You could still lift the lid and give the lens a wipe, could be a little grotty.
    Inside and out.
     
  13. LooPrEvil

    LooPrEvil

    Joined:
    23 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    1,636
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Anglesey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The above has worked for me Alarm. My panel, which I think I mentioned recently is and that I wish to replace, an Omnicron A1 6000. I cannot remember what make the EWD is - I did have to replace it some years ago because, strangely enough, the LEDs stopped working, but it was replaced under warranty (the manufacturer provided a replacement by post, and I returned the original one in a SAE - apparently there was a fault on the pcb).
     
  14. Alarm

    Alarm

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    8,965
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Still is........................ :unsure:
     
  15. LooPrEvil

    LooPrEvil

    Joined:
    23 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    1,636
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Anglesey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :?: :!:
     
  16. Alarm

    Alarm

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    8,965
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you create a tamper at the EWD the panel should not cut it off.
    A removal is the same as cutting the supply cable.
     
  17. madman41

    madman41

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    450
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Humberside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Engineers Hold Off , eg Texecom, Hint 3 Flash
     
Loading...

Share This Page