Another numpty question - X values

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Can anyone confirm that the X values for Cu pipe fittings are the same for fittings of the same type (example end feed) but from different manufacturers ?

Anyone know of a reference site for X values (being lazy !!)

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links
OK, OK I give up - please no more.......

Right, I figured it out the old fashioned way. Bear in mind Im a numpty trainee and wanted to find out the x value for a joint fitting. Now you folk will know this thru experience but I managed to sort it.

Basically I wanted join 2 lengths of 15mm pipe with 2 x 90 end feed bends and a 3rd bit of pipe and maintain the centre to centre measure of the first 2 pipes. that is, calculate the impact of the elbows on my measure.

Answer was 10mm per elbow so trim the pipe by 20mm.

Now - would this be the same for different suppliers of end feed fittings, or is this standard. Also If I were to use compression fittings, would the impact be greater or lesser ?

Oh - and while im asking silly questions, what would be the impact if this were a 22mm set up using either end feed, solder ring or compression.

Go on...you know you want to show off that knowledge...............

Right, this is a kind of trick that colleges teach their trainees to enable them to get pipes cut without wastage. ( Thats the college's wastage that is ! )

Most solder fittings are within a mm or so of each other whatever the make.

I dont do much pipework and cut the pipes 1 mm less than the just touching measurement which is good enough for my infrequent work.

For high quality quick work its usually quicker and easier to cut the pipe off to suit each joint as you go along. I retain the cut off pieces and use the longest piece of pipe first.