AVG Free

P

Peter Mac

Does anyone know how to set to AVG scan all incoming/outgoing mail via gmail or mozilla thunderbird? Since the Email scan is included in the control center I would like to make use of it....!!

Thanks very much

Peter

Sponsored Links
I don't believe that the free edition has the ability that you're looking for.

Have you asked Grisoft? If not, is there a reason why you haven't?

Softus said:
I don't believe that the free edition has the ability that you're looking for.

it does it if you have outlook express (i've got it)

Sponsored Links
I have been using AVG for many years, although it will not work with outlook express. I get errors & emails will not work. On the home page (Test Centre), go to 'control panel', is the email option on or off. I think the only way to reset it is to uninstall, then reinstall & select or deselect as required.

It is not correct to say that AVG will not work with OE. I've seen it work, and I've seen it fail to work. The product is good, but not perfect, especially the free edition.

AVG works, when it wants to, with both Eudora and OE, by design. The same isn't true of every other POP3 client on the planet.

The link that empip kindly provided yields the following information for Gmail:

[code:1]Here are the settings that work for Outlook Express 6 to scan and certify GMail, both incoming and outgoing:

In AVG EMail Scanner, create a Fixed Host POP3 server pointed to pop.gmail.com. Use port 995. Set connection type to "secure to dedicated port (TLS)" check the box "activate this port and use it for sending/receiving mail." DO NOT check "use APOP when available."

Do the same with SMTP, using port 587 or 465 (either is a valid port for gmail), except set the connection type to "secure to regular port (STARTTLS)".