baumatic cooker hood

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by willbailey, 22 Jul 2010.

  1. willbailey

    willbailey

    Joined:
    25 Feb 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    after fitting out my kitchen with led's spots in quest to save on the bills or save the planet (wat ever ) i decided to put led's in the cooker hood and then the lights blew the fan still works and the light for light indicator comes on .so the question is would there be a fuse or something inside the chimney ,it would be more trouble than enough to remove the chimney so i need to know if it is repairable ,i phoned baumatic and they want a £90 call out for a £200 hood
    ............. thanks will

    cooker hood model no. BT9.3GL
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EdwardCurrent

    EdwardCurrent

    Joined:
    29 Apr 2007
    Messages:
    907
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried fitting one of your original lamps back in ?
    Checked the voltage of both ?

    Ed
     
  4. willbailey

    willbailey

    Joined:
    25 Feb 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes i replaced with new bulbs and when i looked at the cable it goes to the top of the fan so i was'nt sure if there was to be a fuse or a pcb had blown ...
    cheers ed
     
  5. bigfrank7777

    bigfrank7777

    Joined:
    29 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a Baumatic cooker hood std.2ss and it is my 3rd one 2 fused the light and one the fan and not both they say it is my elec this proves it is not
     
  6. timtheenchanter

    timtheenchanter

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    952
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    as the lamps are G4 , the transformer may have had an objection to running at such a low level.

    original G4s = 40W total, the LEDs 3W??
     
  7. bigfrank7777

    bigfrank7777

    Joined:
    29 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    German to me

    what I need to know is baumatic are saying it is my house electrics that are causing the fault.

    if that was the case then both fan and light would have blown....fan is working fine this is 3rd time this has happened
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page