1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

bell box help

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by ronnie-12, 15 Aug 2020.

  1. ronnie-12

    ronnie-12

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi so I have a ts400 alarm system , all works fine and have replaced windows sensors and PIRs , Battery ect myself with no problems , Today I wanted to install a new bell box I had purchased because the old on his rusty, the LEDs no longer work and looks like its not in use but it is, So I took the old box off, fixed the new on , all the cable colours are the same except I have a green and a yellow on my old box going to plus and minus for the strobe the wiring diagram fro the new just shows the green to the minus so i connected that and left the yellow floating , long story short I couldn't get it to work , soon as i enter the code the tamper goes and i have to keep resetting , after an hour or so i get fed up and refitted the old one ......Wont work soon as i connected the battery in the bell box the alarm goes and i cant switch it off , Ive had to disconnect the internal battery and leave it with a tamper fault ? any idea please and thank you in advance

    image or wiring first one is the new and 2nd the old
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: 15 Aug 2020
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Bigsosij

    Bigsosij

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    142
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    W.yorks
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    U got the red and black right way round in bell? Cant see the symbols
     
  4. ronnie-12

    ronnie-12

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah Red in the Plus and Black in the minus, First thing I checked, I cant understand it , even now the old ones gone back up !?!?
     
  5. Bigsosij

    Bigsosij

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    142
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    W.yorks
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you blown the bell fuse?
     
  6. ronnie-12

    ronnie-12

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope, learnt that lesson changing the pirs , I remove them now before I do anything :)
     
  7. Bigsosij

    Bigsosij

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    142
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    W.yorks
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did u put it back in lol? U got voltage at panel terminals and bell? And also check voltage between red and white at panel
     
  8. ronnie-12

    ronnie-12

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah both back in, Voltage should be ok shouldn't it , alarm was working with no problem before, all I done was swap the wires over at one end ?
     
  9. Bigsosij

    Bigsosij

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    142
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    W.yorks
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Worh checking in order to diagnose the fault. Also check panel lid tamper as maybe that causing the fault if youve had it open
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. ronnie-12

    ronnie-12

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok , Ill check the voltage tomorrow , thing it isn't going off on its own and won't reset , the tamper on the bell box i can shut off or leave open and it won't sound , soon as i connect the bell box battery its sounds, won't even stop when i punch my code in , so its not like its sounding and then im stopping and then the tamper is going again , until i go back up and disconnect the bell battery it won't stop
     
  12. Bigsosij

    Bigsosij

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    142
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    W.yorks
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So when u connect the new bell the siren rings and the panel goes into tamper?
     
  13. Bigsosij

    Bigsosij

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    142
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    W.yorks
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But the old siren works ok ?
     
  14. ronnie-12

    ronnie-12

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah , I punch my code in, tamper goes off and inside box stops beeping few seconds later tamper on again and inside box going again but the bell box doesn't stop at all unless I go up and pull the battery !?
     
  15. ronnie-12

    ronnie-12

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just off the main subject for a minute have you any idea about the plus strobe wire at the bell box end ? The yellow one in the pictures ?
     
  16. Bigsosij

    Bigsosij

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    142
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    W.yorks
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You dont need the strobe + on the new bell just disconnect it from the panel. Does the bell stop ringing if you press the tamper switch in with your finger when you are up there
     
  17. ronnie-12

    ronnie-12

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah ok , its connected the the red power in the panel so I'll just remove it, Nope it just keeps going regardless if the tamper is pressed or not , only if I take battery out , :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:I've really F'd something up haven't I !! I think check the voltage as you've suggested , whack some new fuses in and try again once this ringing in my ears has stopped ! Lol
     
Loading...

Share This Page