Biasi M90e 24s - Boiler runs but no ignition spark

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, please can you help. My five year old Biasi Riva Compact M90e.24s started playing up the beginning of this week and now there is no ignition spark when starting. When the central heating was working normal, hot water was supplied at the tap, but with the central heating not in use, if you wanted hot water at the tap, the boiler would run [you can hear the fan] but no ignition spark. Now, there is no spark produced for the central heating or for the hot water? The green light flashes quicker than normal.
The red lock out light doesn't come on unless you turn off the gas tap - the lock out doesn't act immediately.

I am a engineer by trade but not within the heating industry. I have read through the Biasi service manual for basic checks. The circulating pump is rotating as expected. The fan motor turns as expected. The system pressure is 1.3 bar when cold. I can't see any obstructions within the flue, etc. The service manual fault finder suggests the air pressure switch or ignition device.

The boiler was serviced Oct 06 and I'm sure a new central heating switch membrain was fitted July/Aug 06.

Can you help?

Sponsored Links
Its good that you have given so much information because I suspect it points to the fault.

Unfortunately what you have said is a little conflicting and I suspect you may have got confused.

When the pump runs it SHOULD operate the system flow switch. The next sequence is to start the fan. You have not made it clear if the fan is being started but I suspect not.

Its VERY rare that the diaphragm nees to be replaced so I think this was done when it was not necessary. Much more common is dirt in the diaphragm chamber!. Or sometimes the injector screw is too far out and needs screwing back in.

You can see if the switch is being operated by the pin and report back.

Tony