big PC problem?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I went to boot up my PC toady and it stopped midway, the screen went blue with a message telling me KRNL386.exe could not be found.

I'm not an expert but i reckon this means my PC is b*gg*r*d. Anyone know if its fixable and will i have lost everything on my hard drive?

I can get it to run in DOS and it does list everything on the C: drive, but when i try and run anything from DOS it pops up a message saying something like 'this computer contains no relevant information'

Help, please!

Sponsored Links
Sounds nasty. If it can't find something you've either got a corrupted disc or a virus which has wiped out part of the operating system. If it boots up in DOS then the fundamentals are all there.

You could try re-installing the operating system from scratch. This will re-load the files you should have onto disc but won't wipe out anything that is already there (personal stuff).

Before that try and run a disc repair routine to see if that's what the problem is.

No expert but had a problem similar before. It was due to installing free-ware. I'd do the same, try to repair with rescue disk? Then look at reinstalling Operating System if no joy.

Sponsored Links
You need to be careful here, it is inadvisable to re-install an operating system without formatting the disk. Win XP has a 'repair' function, which will replace the corrupted/missing file(s), but older versions do not. Anyway if you do reinstall win me for example it will wipe the disk not just reinstall the operating system.

If you can boot in dos, try and back up any critical personal files to your A: drive.

Then you could try and download a copy of the missing file from the net. Just type the name (krnl.. whatever) into google. This will not always work but its worth a try.

Toml said:
I went to boot up my PC toady and it stopped midway, the screen went blue with a message telling me KRNL386.exe could not be found.