Boiler Advice from an Expert Please.........................

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I'm a Newbie here, I was searching the net for some info and came across you guys, perhaps you can help ???

My boiler is covered by British Gas Homecare, they came out today to inspect it as the hot water only works when the heating is on, it doesn't work if the heating is off, they checked it and said that the heat exchanger is scaled up and the boiler needs changing due to the fact that my insurance does not cover scale damage, does this sound right? The Engineer said that the gas and electrical components still look new (the boiler is only eight years old) and it's a shame to change it but the hard water has killed it.

Is it possible that this boiler is dead in such a short time? The radiators still get really hot and so does the water when they are on, the water doesn't heat up however when the radiators are off, it's crazy, the boiler hasn't reached anywhere near it's expected service, it's just a domestic combi running eight radiators!

Also the Engineer said if I fit a Hydroflow it may dissolve the scale in the heat exchanger saving my boiler, what's your view on this?

Cheers guys!

Sponsored Links
No expert, but I'd guess that's about 50% b0110cks.

1) What's the boiler!!!!
2) Are you in a hard water area?

Sponsored Links
Just had an ex-British Gas Engineer out, he said it's the divertor valve and the boiler isn't scaled up!

Called British Gas Homecare and they've cancelled my contract and won't come out to fix it as they insist it's scale damage!