Boiler problems - Faulty Gas Valve???

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

First of all I'm a complete novice when it comes to CH so I apologise in adavance for any stupid questions or incorrect assumptions I make.

We woke up this morning with no heating so I called brittish Gas who we have a service agreement with. unfortunatly they can't come out until Thursday so I decided to have a look at it myself.....

The boiler model is an Ideal Mexico 2.

I noticed the pilot light is on but the main burners don't appear to be coming on. I switched the pilot off as well as the power and restarted everything but no change. I checked the room thermostat, the boiler thermostat and the timer/control box. They all appear to be working and are outputting 240V when switched on. This has let me to suspect the gas valve is faulty and is not switching on. Is this a fair assumption???

I proceeded to check the gas valve solenoid & confirmed power at the pins. I also switched power off and did a ressistance check at the soleniod coil which appears to be open circuit. I would have expected to see a ressistance reading here so am now suspecting the gas valve solenoid.

So I have 2 questions I'm hoping someone here can help me with :)

1 - Have my investigations led me to a reasonable diagnosis?

2 - Is it possible to replace the soleniod in the gas valve? I obviously wouldn't replace the complete valve myself, I would get an expert to do that. But if the solenoid can be replaced without disturbing the gas supply I would be willing to attempt that. The gas valve is a Honeywell V600E.

Sponsored Links
Do you mean 4600e. Yes your diagnosis sounds correct and solenoids can be changed but involves breaking the gasline so proper guy req

you cant do this yourself its gas work . Also BG are advertising that they come out the same day now, so maybe you should quote this back to them when you call them. Whats the point in paying for a service contract if your not gonna use it