1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

BT line tester

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by opps, 20 Jul 2021.

  1. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,850
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A lot of electronic bells require the 3rd wire.
    As you say if phone has only 2 wires, that is the best indicator
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    47,859
    Thanks Received:
    3,119
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have to say, personally, that whilst I have known what was 'technically correct' from the start, I still very much think in terms of 0207/0208 followed by 3+4 and, indeed, I think that I still nearly always verbalise or write them as such.

    As you say, it doesn't really make any difference at all - except, I presume, for those who live in those areas (which I haven't for ~35 years),who I presume can dial just the 4+4 for calls within their (0207 or 0208) area.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  4. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,890
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Indeed they can for calls within their 020 area. (You still got it wrong at the end of the last line!).

    More to the point people who get it wrong try to dial 3+4 and wonder why it does not work.

    Incidentally I don't remember having to dial 11 digits at any time during the changeover except for calls outer to inner.
     
  5. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    47,859
    Thanks Received:
    3,119
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I guess that illustrates how 'fixed' my thinking still is :)

    However, functionally speaking, I did not "get it wrong", witness my reference to their dialing "4+4". However. I agree that what I wrote in brackets was 'wrong' - I should either have written (like you have) "within their 020 area" or (which is probably what I really intended) "within their (020 7xxx xxx or 020 8xxx xxxx) area".

    Do I take it that, within the 020 area, this also works for 020 3xxx xxxx numbers (or any other 'fourth digit which may exist or appear)?
     
  6. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,890
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Indeed it does.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    5,092
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah that may very possibly have been the case depending on where you were, as exchanges 'changed over' at different times, accordingly different arrangements were in place at different times. However the publicity at the time was massive, as someone has already mentioned, so there should be no excuse for not knowing the 'official' situation.
     
  8. danechip

    danechip

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Kettering, Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh how times change.

    My Wellingborough number was 0933 78671 to 0933 278671 to 01933 278671. We used to Call Northampton, we dialled 88 as a 'speed dial' Do those still exist?

    My old phone number in London as a kid 1984 (Grahame Park, Colindale NW London) 01 205 3750

    Working in Telco, Cable tele years ago, we did get ars£y neighbour who would refuse 2 feet of bush being used to install a neighboUr's services. On the odd occasion, we could have a wayleave in 4 hours, but we always got a return.

    And why do virgin offer less per month for a telco contract included (No wiring needed, it plugs directly into the 'modem' now. Powercut, phone line now useless.
     
  9. wgt52

    wgt52

    Joined:
    25 Apr 2016
    Messages:
    1,203
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Short Access 'codes' (speed dial) went around the time (but before) of the national code change. They had to go as the codes were restricting the available number ranges in any 'phone area.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    5,092
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    About the same time mobile phones were all changed to 07..... IIRC
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. opps

    opps

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2006
    Messages:
    4,973
    Thanks Received:
    793
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I appreciate your, and others' posts, but...

    The cables that were not connected to the 10 core cable coming out of the ground- I removed them.

    The old cable that supplied the Banham alarm was showing 48v. The customer asked me to remove it. He now has a 3G MODEM. I cut it back and used gel crimps on the two wires that trace back to the 10 core cable. The two remaining cables that run back to the 10 core cable but are not terminated to any fittings in the house, I did the same thing.

    I could not see why snipping a wire that is, for example 2m long, but not connected to anything other than the ground level BT cable would harm their network. We are talking about 2 cores being used, and not 4 pairs of twisted cable. If anything, I worked n the assumption that cross talk is more likely if old cables are running in to old properties and not terminated as close to the BT 10 core cable.

    If I am wrong, then please do provide links and I genuinely will read them.

    At the risk of sounding flippant, which isn't my intention, I appreciate that what I may have done is not legal, but I am not going to lose any sleep- unless someone can demonstrate that my actions have harmed anything. If that happens, I will take steps accordingly to mitigate any (potential) problems.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,372
    Thanks Received:
    2,523
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A telephone connection to the alarm suggests the alarm is ( was ) connected to a monitoring system. If the monitoring system contract has been terminated then I would expect the telephone line would have been discontinued / parked and dissed at the exchange.

    If the monitoring contract has not been terminated then if the monitoring system performs a routine line check then the system will probably flag up a line fault.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    5,092
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It sounds to me that you have been vigilant and careful with your actions. I very much expect your customer will hear nothing more from any officialdom.(y) from me.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,757
    Thanks Received:
    1,331
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    3G modem ? Probably a dual com unit or other …. Soon find out when it flags up the secondary path is down …
     
  16. danechip

    danechip

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Kettering, Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just an afterthought working in cable. At the time, Wellingborough (01933) Had numbers starting, in 2, 4 and 6. Comtel numbers started with a 3. I installed a residential address, and they were given 01933 333 333. Why did the comms company not put that number up for bid. I understand the numbers were random, but come on ?? Perfect for a taxi or take away...
     
  17. opps

    opps

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2006
    Messages:
    4,973
    Thanks Received:
    793
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Banham moved the customer from a monitored service to a SIM based MODEM about 4 months ago.

    With regards to the termination at the exchange- I can't comment on that. I do not know if Banham use their own monitoring "station" or a third party. Nevertheless it was Banaham that disconnected the fixed wire MODEM and replaced it with a SIM based set up. I guess that it is possible that in X months the line would have been terminated at the exchange regardless.

    On the off chance that the customer had given me incorrect information- I removed the faceplate from the NTE5 box. The alarm keypad showed no signs of "distress".
     
Loading...

Share This Page