Can Hive v1 work without a hub (standalone)?

Joined
5 Sep 2012
Messages
1,319
Reaction score
260
Location
Glasgow
Country
United Kingdom
Can Hive v1 work as a standalone?
Possibly moving home and wondered if I can unpair my new v2 and pair my old v1 again, thus I can take my new hub and thermostat with me. I do understand I'll need to get a new receiver.
TiA
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
8 Mar 2009
Messages
2,866
Reaction score
905
Location
Staffordshire
Country
United Kingdom
I came across this recently, and the clever people who make these things configure them so that they can't be transferred, meaning that if you buy a house with a Hive or Nest, you have to buy a new hub, and register it.

I'm fairly sure though that you can use the thermostat and receiver as a stand alone unit.
 
Joined
5 Sep 2012
Messages
1,319
Reaction score
260
Location
Glasgow
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks mate. I've read that newer versions can be standalone but I can’t find anything on the v1.
 
Joined
5 Jun 2015
Messages
386
Reaction score
129
Location
Bolton
Country
United Kingdom
Yes it can, turn the power off to the receiver and take the batteries out of the thermostat.

Turn the power back on and hold down the button for heating for about 10 seconds.

The flashing amber light will start flashing pink.

While holding down + and - on the thermostat put the batteries back in, keep hold of the buttons until the word find appears on the display then release them.

After a few seconds the flashing pink light should turn green.

Job done.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
16 Apr 2008
Messages
237
Reaction score
17
Location
Bedfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
First time I have heard of someone taking their boiler heating controls with them In a house move. A bit like taking out a new radiator and replacing it with the old one that was kept in the shed. I would have thought it would be classed as part of a house sale unless listed for removal.
 
Joined
15 Aug 2010
Messages
26,232
Reaction score
12,726
Location
Livingston
Country
United Kingdom
First time I have heard of someone taking their boiler heating controls with them In a house move. A bit like taking out a new radiator and replacing it with the old one that was kept in the shed. I would have thought it would be classed as part of a house sale unless listed for removal.
A lot mose common than you would think, many people do it
 
Joined
5 Sep 2012
Messages
1,319
Reaction score
260
Location
Glasgow
Country
United Kingdom
First time I have heard of someone taking their boiler heating controls with them In a house move. A bit like taking out a new radiator and replacing it with the old one that was kept in the shed.
I have an old and a new Hive thermostat. The Hive hub isn't transferrable so a new owner can't make use of it anyway, thus if it's easy to re-pair the old thermostat and have it working standalone then I'll take the newer more modern one with me. If not then I'll probably just leave the new one working as a standalone.
 
Joined
5 Sep 2012
Messages
1,319
Reaction score
260
Location
Glasgow
Country
United Kingdom
Yes it can, turn the power off to the receiver and take the batteries out of the thermostat.

Turn the power back on and hold down the button for heating for about 10 seconds.

The flashing amber light will start flashing pink.

While holding down + and - on the thermostat put the batteries back in, keep hold of the buttons until the word find appears on the display then release them.

After a few seconds the flashing pink light should turn green.

Job done.
Thanks mate. I think that's the instructions for standalone with Hive v2, not sure if they also work with the older version v1.
 
Joined
5 Jun 2015
Messages
386
Reaction score
129
Location
Bolton
Country
United Kingdom
This is the Hive V1.
Is this what you have? If so then the instructions I gave are correct.
 

Attachments

  • rtaImage.jpeg
    rtaImage.jpeg
    10.6 KB · Views: 4

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top