Can somebody please tell me if what i've done is dangerous

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I added a spur from a socket in my kitchen for my dryer. I've also added a fused spur from that for a lamp. I know that you can't have a spur from a spur but is it ok if i use the fused spur and if i only use 1 socket on each spur :?:
Thanks

Sponsored Links
Down to the wattage of your dryer but technically, yes, could be highly dangerous.
What happens when you move and granny moves in and plugs in two electric fires 'cos she's cold?
Always work on the worst case scenario and cater for it, just in case (unless of course you are happy with it and rip out the 2nd spur before moving).

Cheers Scoby,

So will this configuration be ok for me as long as i remove the second spur before i move, if i ever do. If i only use 1 socket on each spur this will be ok?

I'm not recommending this as a way of doing things as it could be potentially dangerous.
Also, I'm no electrician, just picked up a few pointers when re-wiring house.
What I am saying is if your dryer is, say, 2kw, a 60watt bulb attached isn't going to make any difference, as long as you know only to plug a lamp into it.
The first 2 gang (I assume) socket should be ok for both to be used if in 2.5mm2.
Is the fused spur directly wired or will it take plug tops ?
Just remember :- W/V = A. If (I assume again) all four sockets (2 each) you have do not exceed 20 amps ( I think thats the max for a radial circuit) you should be ok but couldnt you run a second wire back and use a connection box to make it part of your ring main ?

Sponsored Links
the simple answer is do not do it. to day it is a dryer, and a lamp, tomorrow it will be? .............you are alive today.

My late father used to say "there is nothing so pemanent as a temporary job"