Cement Mixer - what kind/make?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm redesigning our patio - quite a job for me. I'll soon need to learn how to lay bricks and sometime after that, will need to lay the patio slabs. I don't want to hire a mixer as I think the job is likely to take quite a while, so I'm looking to buy. What kind of mixer should I go for? I have no experience at all of using a cement mixer or mixing, so this is a learning curve for me. All I can think of so far, is something where the drum isn't too far off the ground so putting sand and cement into the mixer won't be too hard.
Any recommendations?

Sponsored Links
The Belle "barrow" mixers are pretty robust and low to the ground. They do tend to last quite well judging from the number of olde ones around on builders wagons, although they're no longer the cheapest

Scrit

No question of it.
For a relatively marginal extra sum I would and do go for Belle mini mixers every time. They last us around 2-5 years, working pretty much full time.
Petrol or electric doesn't matter, just keep the oil topped up.
AND clean the drum at the end of the day.

go for an electric belle. very light, reliable, portable and quiet. They also do a good range of spares and replacement parts.

As mentioned before, clean it at the end of use, dont hammer the hell out of it to get the dried stuff out the next day or it wont last

Sponsored Links
I can't see the point in buying a belle if it is just for one job. OK, it may have some resale value, but you will have to work it out.

Otherwise, go for one of the £100 ones which crop up now and again at Aldi or suchlike, or the similar ones from machinemart.

Putting the sand/cement in is not the problem, it is getting it out which you will find harder. I would suggest you may find a side-tilt model better, with a large wheel to tip the drum, rather than the common belle ones which require more effort to tip the mix out

Buy cheap pay twice.