Chasing LCD TV cables into wall and connecting power supply!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Guys,

Please help!!

I've already scoured the forum but have had no luck in finding any info.

I've recently bought an LCD TV and want to wall mount it, i would also like to chase the cables into the wall, therefore concealing them (seems to be what everyone is doing nowdays).
The problem is i have limited electrical experience and was wondering how i connect the power supply and aerial, surely i do not leave these out at the end of the chase and then plug them into the closest available socket??

I'm sorry for the silly question, but i am still learning.

Any help, advice or suggestions will be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Wooks

:eek: :confused: :LOL:

Sponsored Links
how do the arial and mains leads connect to the TV?

for the mains if its a standard connector that plugs into the TV (ie you can cut a lead without destroying your only one) then i would cut the lead as short as possible and run it to a switched fused connection unit (make sure you get one with a cord grip in the correct side) just under the TV then run a spur from here to a socket on the ring using 2.5mm T&E

as for the arial we need to know what your current setup is regarding this before we can really advise on it

Sponsored Links
I don't beleive it is illegal and have posted my reply over on that topic.

Thanks Plugwash for the info.

Just to let you know, as part of the deal in purchasing my house, a full rewire was done to replace the old 50's rubber cabling.
With regards to the living room, this means that there are now double sockets, tv arial and telephone points on 3 corners of the room.

The wall with the fireplace which is in between 2 double power sockets and 2 tv arial points, is where i plan to place my tv.