Cold Calling

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey all,

I'm developing business with trade customers and one of the obvious methods is cold-calling businesses and asking them to consider using us a supplier (we're a plant hire company).

Bit of a longshot, but I'd appreciate the help as I've got no real sales "pitch" experience, and certainly not cold-calling.

What works for any of you?
When's a good time to call?
What's a good follow up? (Call again, cards, website...etc??)

Any tips appreciated - guess you were all in my position once, or maybe you're currently hammering the phone?!

Conor

Sponsored Links
I believe you will have to register with the telephone preferance service, so you know who not to call.

i understand whay you are doing it but you will be the verbal equivilant of spam

I know theres strong enforcement by the TPS to protect private/consumers, but it's a bit hazy when it comes to business to business contact.

I want to introduce our company and invite other businesses to consider using us in future, and maybe allow us to quote.

I know this happens thousands of times a day across the country (reps establishing new leads etc.) - so what's different about what they are doing?

put it this way, how many calls do you get / day offering a service?

what do you do when you get them?

its annoyinmg and time wasting (in my opinion)

if i want something i go out and find it, then compare a with A and see who / what i like best

have you got a website?

(no dont tell us what it is, it will be advertising which is against the rules)

Sponsored Links
DiggerBoy said:
Not calling me.

Never.

What's a good follow up?
n/a

Sorry to be so negative Conor, but on principle I don't buy anything from companies that cold call. This is because they're generally a bunch of liars. Here's an example of one I had a couple of years back:

Salesman: Hi, is that the owner of the business?
Me: [Suspiciously, for I know what's coming] How can I help you?