Condensate from a combi boiler

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by cheshireblue12, 10 May 2014.

  1. cheshireblue12

    cheshireblue12

    Joined:
    2 May 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    British Gas have recently done a service on my condensing boiler and put a not up to 'present standard' sticker on it due to condensate drain being routed to the outside path.
    When I replace the boiler for a condensing combi I would like to keep the boiler in the same position. Any thoughts how I can get the drain to the soil drain approx 5m away. (The boiler is positioned on the ground floor and there isn't a great fall between the the bottom of the boiler and ground (approx 1m).
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. stardanny

    stardanny

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    1,660
    Thanks Received:
    256
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Where is the boiler? Kitchen?

    Daniel.
     
  4. Corgigrouch

    Corgigrouch

    Joined:
    13 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    4,009
    Thanks Received:
    512
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A soakaway is a possibillity..... So would a condensate pump
     
  5. bazdaman

    bazdaman

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2010
    Messages:
    1,382
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Soil stack 5 m away and you have a 1m gap from boiler to floor? Maybe a pic would help of boiler in relation to stack? Why cant it go to stack?
     
  6. cheshireblue12

    cheshireblue12

    Joined:
    2 May 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The boiler is at present in a pantry area within the rear of the living room. The nearest drain is approx 5m away. (With only 1m fall from the boiler to the floor)
     
  7. swbjackson

    swbjackson

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2008
    Messages:
    1,684
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I in 5 is plenty of fall.
     
  8. cheshireblue12

    cheshireblue12

    Joined:
    2 May 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    May have got my original estimation wrong the original condensate pipe it approx 6" from the pavement with approx 5m run to nearest foul drain.
     
  9. bazdaman

    bazdaman

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2010
    Messages:
    1,382
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Put the condensate pipe out higher under boiler then
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. cheshireblue12

    cheshireblue12

    Joined:
    2 May 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The boiler looks like it would need to be raised to raise the condensate pipe without creating a lute.
     
  12. polesapart

    polesapart

    Joined:
    27 May 2011
    Messages:
    1,386
    Thanks Received:
    362
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd love to create a lute but don't have the fine woodworking skills or musical ability.
     
  13. polesapart

    polesapart

    Joined:
    27 May 2011
    Messages:
    1,386
    Thanks Received:
    362
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But I'd be happy to run a condensate pipe in 40mm pipe over 5m with a fall of 1 in 40 - thats 5" in old money.
     
  14. cheshireblue12

    cheshireblue12

    Joined:
    2 May 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for advise hopefully one issue solved.
     
  15. ALCPlumbing

    ALCPlumbing

    Joined:
    5 Apr 2014
    Messages:
    727
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It may be easier to use a condense pump. They are reasonably inexpensive and easy to set up.

    You have a choice between an alarm sounding if it is close to overflowing due to not pumping or it can cut the switched live to the boiler.

    The latter is my preferred choice. This means connecting the switched live to the the common and linking the normally closed to the boiler firing terminal.

    If you are going to have this done when having your new boiler installed though it may be easier to raise boiler and it's one less thing to go wrong if you can do it without a pump. It won't cost much more to have it done though at the same time as installation. I would normally only charge for the pump and no additional labour if it's straight forward running the connection to drain.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. Plumber90

    Plumber90

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    178
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How soon are you looking to get this done as it will be easier getting a gas engineer out to have a look at this and give you some advice.

    What's your location as someone on here may be able to help.
     
  17. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page