conservatory piled foundations

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I've nearly got my conservatory plans approved by BCO but they don't like my plans for basic foundations as it turns out that my house was build on made up ground and has 'reinforced concrete strip foundations spanning between vibro compacted stone columns'. I am not entirely sure what that means being a complete novice to any sort of building work.
I assume that my conservatory needs to have similar founds? The made up ground was to a depth or 2.6 m! So does that mean that I need these stone pillars to 2.6m then strip foundations between them? Where do the pillars get placed, one at each corner?

Any advice appreciated....

Sponsored Links
Hey,

Piled foundations are reinforced concrete piles which are either driven into the ground or the soil is removed before concrete is poured, they are able to be taken to a suitable loadbearing subsoil depth in your case 2.6m. The tops of the piles will then support reinforced ground beams from which walls are then built off. The piles will get placed in each corner of the building and then any other points such as intermediate walls.

Heres a picture;

piledfoundations.jpg

You could possible ask your BCO about using a raft foundation as this is an alternative for filled ground as it spreads the load over a greater area.

Hope this helps

R Critchley

Piles will be expensive, unless you opt for a mini pile system. Your better off aiming for a raft footing onto the made ground. This will involve getting some geotechnical info about the material and getting a bearing pressure.

Thanks.

Yes it is the expense I'm worried about as this was supposed to be a cheap DIY job!
What is a mini pile system?

I will need to read up about raft foundations but would that mean I would need to dig 2.6m depth over the whole area of the conservatory?