Cooker 6mm to plug

Joined
15 Feb 2021
Messages
47
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there
Just realised that my new 2.4kw oven has a plug attached. I had originally wired in a double cooker outlet with 6mm cable to the hob (6600w)on 32a breaker and ran the 6mm flex also to the tall housing and next job was to connect the wire to a terminal block on oven. Problem is now the 6mm flex is too thick and can’t be wired as no terminal block. Can’t think best way of doing this now. I have a built in microwave to go above it that will be plugged into a double socket behind oven. I didn’t want to run both appliances to the socket as I never saw this coming as only got the oven recently and been on with full refit. Just thinking can I connect this to the twin . Outlet? Any way? Or have I wasted my time now with the cable
 

Attachments

  • 6B387059-6568-49CB-99D2-2F1D534AA67C.jpeg
    6B387059-6568-49CB-99D2-2F1D534AA67C.jpeg
    270.8 KB · Views: 39
  • 6CE3A52D-1158-4BB0-9D96-D5A8BAFD81F6.jpeg
    6CE3A52D-1158-4BB0-9D96-D5A8BAFD81F6.jpeg
    240.7 KB · Views: 39
  • 49427ED4-C77D-4C0A-8C58-C746753FC9B7.jpeg
    49427ED4-C77D-4C0A-8C58-C746753FC9B7.jpeg
    182.2 KB · Views: 40
Sponsored Links
Joined
15 Feb 2021
Messages
47
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Socket from the dual ? Would the 6mm flex need changing ?
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
15 Feb 2021
Messages
47
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
hi there, if I can is that all good then? Or would I need to swap the flex for 2.5mm cable
 
Joined
20 Aug 2009
Messages
9,629
Reaction score
1,282
Location
Dorset
Country
United Kingdom
hi there, if I can is that all good then? Or would I need to swap the flex for 2.5mm cable
No, 6.0 mm2 is fine, in fact, better.

Make sure if the socket is behind the oven that there is room to push the oven back. Or fit the socket in a cupboard next to the oven, or similar.
 
Joined
15 Feb 2021
Messages
47
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Nice one pal, that is great news, so it’s as simple as wiring the 6mm flex onto a socket. I was fearing the worst and expecting to have to change the cable having spent a bit on it.
The smaller length of cable in pic For hob was too thick for the hob so had to use the pre wired cable from the hob into the dual. And take the smaller length out. So the longer length is getting a surface mount box fitted tomorrow and cooker will plug into that
 
Joined
15 Feb 2021
Messages
47
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks guys got this done today after help
 

Attachments

  • 32BAD011-0051-456C-9304-A22EA5905FFA.jpeg
    32BAD011-0051-456C-9304-A22EA5905FFA.jpeg
    195.1 KB · Views: 36
  • 57BC7A1D-1789-42DD-93E5-4AC7639A725E.jpeg
    57BC7A1D-1789-42DD-93E5-4AC7639A725E.jpeg
    169.7 KB · Views: 35
  • CAF897BD-271A-47BC-91C6-CB6E2F891719.jpeg
    CAF897BD-271A-47BC-91C6-CB6E2F891719.jpeg
    198.7 KB · Views: 34

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top