Danfoss tp5000si thermostat display problems

Joined
1 Dec 2021
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
On the contrary, quite a lot of hard wired thermostats use batteries, especially ones that do not require a neutral wire.
So i’m quite confused now, as i pulled the thermostat off the wall and it was still on, but had a 4core power cable going to it also. So are the batteries just a back up? Also I didn’t see any low voltage cables so does this mean it’s a wireless unit? Where would i find the receiver?
 

CBW

Joined
26 Sep 2019
Messages
11,818
Reaction score
3,333
Location
North
Country
United Kingdom
No it doesn’t mean it’s wireless, as the wires are behind it - these are used to send (switch) the live to the zone valve(s). I don’t know why batteries are used in this instance, it might be to do with saving settings.
 
Joined
15 Nov 2005
Messages
77,464
Reaction score
4,840
Location
Crossgates, Europe
Country
Cook Islands
It's an SI control

Service Interval

Designed to stop working if the system is not regularly maintained.

Typically installed in rental properties, but also sold off at low prices because most people don't want a product that does that.
 
Joined
1 Dec 2021
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
It's an SI control

Service Interval

Designed to stop working if the system is not regularly maintained

Typically installed in rental properties, but also sold off at low prices because most people don't want a product that does that.
Ah ok, my house is a new build so maybe got installed because it’s cheap?

So whats the solution? Get the boiler serviced and then it will be ok?
 

DP

Joined
10 Dec 2003
Messages
15,580
Reaction score
3,509
Location
Glasgow
Country
United Kingdom
My Danfoss tp5000si display has all of a sudden stopped displaying the time and intstead shows only 2 dots flashing where the time normally is and also the temperature, which when i first looked was down at 5c

Read what I have posted. Nothing wrong with your thermostat.
 

DP

Joined
10 Dec 2003
Messages
15,580
Reaction score
3,509
Location
Glasgow
Country
United Kingdom
So i’m quite confused now, as i pulled the thermostat off the wall and it was still on, but had a 4core power cable going to it also. So are the batteries just a back up? Also I didn’t see any low voltage cables so does this mean it’s a wireless unit? Where would i find the receiver?

Will be a retrofit. Would have been a normal thermostat replaced by present unit carrying out time and temperature function. Programmer either bypassed or set to ON to defer control to TP5000. Done that many times
 
Joined
1 Dec 2021
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Will be a retrofit. Would have been a normal thermostat replaced by present unit carrying out time and temperature function. Programmer either bypassed or set to ON to defer control to TP5000. Done that many times
Brilliant thanks, so whats the solution please?
 

DP

Joined
10 Dec 2003
Messages
15,580
Reaction score
3,509
Location
Glasgow
Country
United Kingdom
Press the up and down arrow together. Or look at the manual on how to remove the programmer from frost setting
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top