1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Dodgy socket

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by raebhoop, 19 Jan 2014.

  1. raebhoop

    raebhoop

    Joined:
    5 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    538
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have one single living room socket playing up...all the rest are ok.If I plug the vacuum in, it stutters on and off like a bad connection. I've not removed the socket yet for a look see,thought I'd come on here first.

    I've plugged in one of these below and am a getting the continuous tone 'correct' reading. Vacuum ok in other sockets by the way.

    Thoughts please....

    [​IMG]
     
  2. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,803
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Loose wires, faulty socket or both.
    Likely the fault only shows up when a decent load is connected, so that rather useless testing device will show as working.

    Replace the socket.
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,032
    Thanks Received:
    4,150
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Probably a loose connection in the socket or vacuum plug showing with the relatively high current required by the vacuum..

    If all wiring connections are satisfactory then I would suspect the 'prongs' in the socket or socket switch contacts so just replace it.
     
  5. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,627
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As above it is very likely to be one of those faults, loose or damage conductor behind socket or the socket contacts are starting to fail.
    So to remedy this, you would need to identify circuit, prove it is dead,socket tester may come in handy there!
    It would also be wise after removing covers testing again with an approved voltage tester if you have loose conductors/faulty contacts.
    Once that has been done, check for loose/damaged cables, if none then a socket replacement would be the next step.

    If still having intermittent power loss after the above you may have a loose/damaged connection in nearby socket/accessory that could also causing this power loss.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. raebhoop

    raebhoop

    Joined:
    5 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    538
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Much obliged...
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page