1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Does a consumer unit have same safe zones as socket

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by cjp2k, 12 Sep 2021.

  1. cjp2k

    cjp2k

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just a quick question..just to add I'm not doing the work myself, just getting differing opinions

    My C U is in the downstairs toilet on a internal wall. I need to get. Cable outside only way without having cables all over is to run down the wall into the boxing for the toilet and out the wall.

    One person wants to use swa on a non Rcd breaker and esentaiily just have the cable hanging into the back of the cu

    One wants to run the cable in t and e then into the boxing into an adaptable box terminate to swa and out the wall and use it on a type ac Rcd side of the board.

    The charger has all the protection built in.

    Are these options ok?

    What's the best option
     
  2. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,817
    Thanks Received:
    1,962
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Zones apply horizontally / vertically from a consumer unit in the same way as sockets and switches.

    What are you having installed?
    If it's an EV charge unit, it cannot be connected to an existing type AC RCD.
    SWA must be terminated with the proper glands, and most certainly NOT just 'hanging into the back of the cu'.
    There is a long list of other things which must be checked before installing an EV charger.
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. cjp2k

    cjp2k

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes it's an ev charge unit it's either the hypervolt or the zappi

    CU is an Schneider easy 9 split load

    There is no non Rcd protected ways first guy wants to shift the first Rcd over then use that breaker

    I can't seem find a type a Rcd for the Schneider units
     
  5. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,817
    Thanks Received:
    1,962
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That may be a valid option, depending on how the CU is configured internally.
    MCB and the whole circuit in armoured cable, no RCD required.
    Or fit an easy9 RCBO, which are all Type A, and wire it in T&E or similar.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. markyd1

    markyd1

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    125
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    CEF sell them
     
Loading...

Share This Page