Door closer not working

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I live in a block of flats and there's a Yale door closer on the entrance door. It has never worked since I've been here (six years). The door always slams shut instead of closing slowly.

Can it be adjusted, or will it have to be replaced?

Sponsored Links
Yes, they are adjustable and mostly the adjustable tension screw are normally on left or right side of the closer, if not, it maybe under the cover plate etc.

if its the overhead type theres normally two screws under the cover plate that can be adjusted. Normally instructions on the inside as well!

Is it something like this?

lcn_exploded.jpg

some info in here http://www.mfsales.com/book02/546-553.pdf

Sponsored Links
I haven't actually taken the cover off yet. But it looks quite similar to the first one in your pdf link.

I'm a complete novice at these things, is it just a case of prising the case off with a screwdriver then turning the right adjustment screw?

Sorry, never done it myself. But I bet Thermo man has!

if it looks like that. do the following. Get up on a step ladder and have a look at it. The cover will either just pull of or there may be a couple of small screws holding it on. If its a square one there may be a sliding cover that just slides along to expose the adjustment screws. There should be two screws. One will do the speed and the other does the backcheck ie slows the door down in the last bit to stop the slam. If you look at the screws there should be some arrows on them or a + and - to tell you which way to turn it. It doesnt take much to adjust them, just a few turns of the screws. Do one at a time and if you can work out which one is which, do the closing speed first, then the back check after.