Double socket

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by jason1976, 25 Oct 2021.

  1. jason1976

    jason1976

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi i have a double socket but i want a switched fused spur. Is there anyway to have a single socket and a switched fused spur in the same double socket pattress box.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. elite123

    elite123

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    26,053
    Thanks Received:
    2,597
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. jason1976

    jason1976

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats what i hoped you could do. What about connecting them to the existing wiring.
     
  6. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    75,131
    Thanks Received:
    4,362
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    as it's a socket, it's most likely on a ring, or possibly a radial, so it will most likely have two cables connected to it.

    You can put one of the cables on the left-hand accessory, one on the right, and put a short length between the two, so that the ring or radial continues through them.

    There is an alternative way to do it.

    If there is only one cable, it is either a spur, or the end of a radial, so come back for more advice.
     
  7. jason1976

    jason1976

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its a ring circuit
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. OwainDIYer

    OwainDIYer

    Joined:
    5 May 2010
    Messages:
    4,559
    Thanks Received:
    699
    Location:
    Stirlingshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Like Like x 1
  10. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    49,217
    Thanks Received:
    3,251
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    True - but I'm not sure what that's got to do with the OP's question about getting both accessories in one pattress box :)

    As has been said (by different people), to do what the OP wants would presumably require either a modular/grid approach or the use of a (wider than double) 'dual box'.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  11. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    75,131
    Thanks Received:
    4,362
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    I thought we'd already established he'd use a dual box? And now he was just asking about how to wire them?

     
  12. RandomGrinch

    RandomGrinch

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2021
    Messages:
    1,604
    Thanks Received:
    355
    Location:
    Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For info, a flex outlet:

    https://www.cef.co.uk/catalogue/products/5463-cord-anchorage-module

    (Though an easy DIY job with a blanking plate!)
    And a fused module:

    https://www.cef.co.uk/catalogue/products/1584486-13a-fused-connection-unit-module-white

    Although these will fit in a two gang back box, the ability to switch on the outlets has been lost, compared with the dual back box solution.
     
  13. plugwash

    plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    9,642
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The problem is you run out of spaces.

    A standard UK double plate takes four Euro modules. 13A socket euro modules are double-sized, so four modules is just enough to fit a socket, a switch and a fuse. You don't have any room left for stuff like a flex outlet or a second switch.

    You can get bigger Euro module plates for bigger boxes of course but if you are going to replace the box anyway you may as well go for the dual box and normal accessories.

    Also when it comes to flex outlets i'm not finding many good options for mains wiring in Euro module form factor. Most are brush plates with no cable restraint, fine for passing AV cables through walls but not for terminating a mains cable. The RPP one randomgrinch linked uses a clip-in cable restraint which is likely to be quite fussy about flex size. BG do a "45A" one based on a proper gland but it's a double module in size.
     
    Last edited: 26 Oct 2021
  14. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    49,217
    Thanks Received:
    3,251
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    (I missed thgis comment before!) ... Maybe, but only if you regard around 24 mm (almost an inch) as "a few millimetres".

    Kind Regards, John
     
Loading...

Share This Page