Drill Spyhole - Help!

Joined
30 Dec 2006
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Location
Cambridgeshire
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

Can anyone advise how best to drill a 32mm hole for a bigger spyhole/camera into a composite door where a 14mm hole already exists for the existing spyhole? I am thinking a spade bit is no good as there is nothing for it to 'bite' into. Any ideas appreciated.

Regards

Asgar
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
18 Oct 2010
Messages
8,965
Reaction score
722
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
32mm hole saw carefully placed, with a slightly smaller pilot bit is one way.
 
Joined
30 Dec 2006
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Location
Cambridgeshire
Country
United Kingdom
Ok, thanks, bit will the hole saw type not damage the exterior of the door? Is there any other way please?
 
Joined
18 Oct 2010
Messages
8,965
Reaction score
722
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Slow cut from outside, pilot protrudes inside. Now drill from inside, should be no damage.

Padsaw, damage for sure.
A lot of small holes, untidy and damage.


How was the hole cut in the first place?
 
Joined
1 Dec 2009
Messages
5,058
Reaction score
967
Location
South Yorkshire
Country
Barbados
Drill a 32mm hole in a scrap bit of ply, clamp this over the exsisting hole obviously centralising it and use it as a guide for your 32mm bit, once its started you could remove the ply, do this on both sides to eliminate blow out. This is how i would do it.
 
Joined
29 Apr 2011
Messages
3,579
Reaction score
551
Country
United Kingdom
Surely the 14mm hole would act as a pilot hole for a spade bit?
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
4 Sep 2010
Messages
133
Reaction score
6
Location
Durham
Country
United Kingdom
think cranks answer will be best, because holesaws, flat bits and augers need a center point to start from, otherwise they will make a real mess of the material :)
hope this helps

tom
 
Joined
25 Jan 2011
Messages
38
Reaction score
3
Location
Devon
Country
United Kingdom
What ever you do be very careful, composite chips very easy when drilling holes in the door slab. Not a problem if you have cnc router tho!
 
Joined
25 Nov 2006
Messages
132
Reaction score
1
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Personally, I would glue in a piece of 14mm dowel, then when set, drill with spade bit.
 
Sponsored Links
Top