Earth detection

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Problem: I can see an earth cable running from the consumer unit which could be running to the earth rod, however, I cannot find the earth rod.

Without pulling the ceiling down and investigating it's path, is there another way of detecting the earth block in CU has a connection to ground (i.e using a meter reading..)?

Any ideas??

Sponsored Links
take a floorboard up and stick your head under. look to see if you can see an earthrod. look around the outside of your house for an earth wire coming out and going underground

I'm not an electrician, but I might do the following to check an earth connection:
construct a known earth rod by driving a few heavy copper spikes into damp ground nearby & linking them with heavy cable. Then check the resistance between this contrivance and your 'suspected earth' using a high-impedance ohmmeter. A resistance of below 20 Ohms would indicate that the suspected earth is actually connected to ground. I'm not sure whether this is a good method (it's certainly quite involved) or even whether it would work. Could be a load of hogwash. But I think it's a good question.

Most probably, though, the earth wire you see is either connected to an earth conductor on the incoming header (a TNS supply), or it's bonded to the neutral on the incoming header (TNCS supply).

professionals - is any of what I advise correct?!

andrew2022 said:
take a floorboard up and stick your head under. look to see if you can see an earthrod. look around the outside of your house for an earth wire coming out and going underground

Thanks for replies

Unfortunately I cannot take floor boards up as there is t+g flooring upstairs and would involve taking up a rooms worth of timber!

There is no earth cable on the outside of the building, although there a porch has been added and am wondering if the earth rod has been buried during construction.