Ecotech Plus 831 Combi with VRC430 + VR81

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by andrewjames, 2 Dec 2009.

  1. andrewjames

    andrewjames

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Guys,

    Hope one of you gurus with extended knowledge on heating systems can clear something up for me

    Just had a Valliant Ecotect Plus 831 installed with the standard TimeSwitch 130 thats the 24h analog timer which we tend to leave on timer 7pm - 11pm for the central heating, all rads have TRVs fitted which again are currently set to max

    my issue is from time to time we would like to bring the heating on sooner than 7, adjust the temp, or maybe not have it come on at all that evening say we are heading out for the night and dont want to waste the energy

    as the boiler is tucked away under the stairs i dont want to have to go and manually adjust the settings each time so what is the best way to achieve the above

    i was thinking of purchasing the VRC430 and a VR81 but i would like to fit the VRC430 into my living room conenct it by 2 wire to the ebus and maybe put the VR81 in an upstairs bedroom

    am i right in saying i could control the boilers on and off times, temp etc from either of those rooms via the VRC430?

    Also i know both units act as room thermostats so i would need to remove the TRV on the two rads in both of those rooms, or would i be best to mount the VRC430 into the hallway which also has a rad but is away from the fireplace?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. andrewjames

    andrewjames

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. chrisfi

    chrisfi

    Joined:
    9 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Setting times can only be done on the VRC430. The VR 81 is a thermostat with basic controls to change the current temp or the operating mode.

    Unless you have two heating zones - upstairs/downstairs, I think the VR81 would become the master thermostat overriding that in the VRC430. However, I can't be sure.....

    Look in the installers area of the Vaillant website for the manuals. They are not very clear, but might help.
     
  5. kevindgas

    kevindgas

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    5,741
    Thanks Received:
    480
    Location:
    Hedge End Hants
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    vr430 weather comp fits in the boiler in place of 130 timer and yes you can fit a thermostat as well
    look on vaillant uk website for the full sp on the 430 (18 pages) it explains how it works.
     
  6. mickyg

    mickyg

    Joined:
    24 Aug 2005
    Messages:
    16,007
    Thanks Received:
    3,325
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just use the 430 as the thermostat. They do a wireless version now. or at least they will, not sure if its on general sale yet. Don't forget to add the outside sensor. Or use the 360 without the outside sensor.
     
  7. andrewjames

    andrewjames

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the idea of having both the 430 and the 81 is that the 81 will talk to the 430 via wireless, so i thought 430 downstairs, 81 upstairs, no its only one heating zone but we would like to increase the heat without going downstairs
     
  8. mickyg

    mickyg

    Joined:
    24 Aug 2005
    Messages:
    16,007
    Thanks Received:
    3,325
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes but it seems pointless when the 430 is a thermostat anyway, just put that where you want the 81? btw you are installing the WC sensor I assume? Without it the 430 is a bit pointless.
     
  9. andrewjames

    andrewjames

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes will be using the WC outside sensor, i agree it is pointless as its a thermostat aswell, but im still left with no way of controlling the single zone heating system from both upstairs and downstairs with only having one box
    i take it if i use both the 430 and the 81 as thermostats then one will override the other serving no purpose?
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. mickyg

    mickyg

    Joined:
    24 Aug 2005
    Messages:
    16,007
    Thanks Received:
    3,325
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes the 81 will work as a thermostat and the 430 as a programmer. Do you mean you have 2 zones?
     
  12. andrewjames

    andrewjames

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No just single zone i dont mind it been single just wanted upstairs / downstairs control of the on / off / temp is there a better way to do it?
     
  13. mickyg

    mickyg

    Joined:
    24 Aug 2005
    Messages:
    16,007
    Thanks Received:
    3,325
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok so just fit the 430 in your hallway as your roomstat. job done.
    If wiring is an issue, wait a few months for the rf version to hit the market.
     
  14. andrewjames

    andrewjames

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im with you, RF mite be best, so still i have to go downstairs to my hallway to make any adjustments right? i cant use an additional 81 to override from upstairs
     
  15. mickyg

    mickyg

    Joined:
    24 Aug 2005
    Messages:
    16,007
    Thanks Received:
    3,325
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you fit the 81 it will be the only control for temp. so its no use. I get what your tryinf to do now. You want it like the upstairs/downstairs lightswitches?
    You want be able to I'm afraid.
     
  16. andrewjames

    andrewjames

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thats it!!

    oh well no biggie, i'll just have to send the missus downstairs to turn it off :cool:

    thanks for all your help
     
  17. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page