1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Electric shower

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by leacol, 27 Jul 2003.

  1. leacol

    leacol

    Joined:
    27 Jul 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Need to fit a new single fuse consumer unit for my new shower 10.8kw , as the consumer unit for the house has no spare fuse sockets , how do you connect the new unit to the old unit? , think the rating needs to be 50amp . :evil:
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. cobweb

    cobweb

    Joined:
    28 May 2003
    Messages:
    92
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This one isn't a DIY job. Unless you're a spark you'll need to get one in. The new CU needs to come directly from the backside of the primary feed which means either working live, which is not a bright thing to do, or removing the mains fuse. Also not a bright thing to do unless you're a spark. Although if you try and get it wrong, which is very likely, you will rapidly get very bright indeed.

    And besides, it's illegal for anybody other than a qualified spark or the electric company to remove the seal and fuse, and as you wouldn't have a certified seal to replace it with, the next time you get your meter read you'll also get a visit from the police.

    Maybe that's why we earn so much, haha :)
     
  4. leacol

    leacol

    Joined:
    27 Jul 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey us plasterers do ok with the cash too , Will leave it alone then , leave it to you guys , any idea what a spark will charge to wire the shower and put the new fuse box in ?
     
  5. cobweb

    cobweb

    Joined:
    28 May 2003
    Messages:
    92
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could do all the prep first and then just get the spark to connect your new CU to the mains. Probably just charge the callout that way. £50ish would seem about the going rate these days.
     
  6. breezer

    breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,324
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    even a qualified electrician is not supposed to do it, unless the supply company has been informed first. e.g changing consumers unit /adding new one, this is so the supply co. can "check the workmanship / saftey of the work / wiring"
     
  7. cobweb

    cobweb

    Joined:
    28 May 2003
    Messages:
    92
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're correct, Breezer. My poor wording rather than ignorance. Sorry!
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page