external gas pipes

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi there, newbie here, I hope someone can help

I have my gas meter mounted on an external wall about 5 foot above ground but inside a lean-to garage. The piping to the meter comes directly up from the ground, the piping into the house goes along the external wall and into the kitchen. This piping is about 5-6 metres in length mostly above door height.

I am intending to have the garage demolished and put a meter box around the meter, but this will leave this gas piping exposed on the outside wall of the house.

Is this acceptable and legal? The alternative would be to have the meter moved which will be expensive.

thanks in anticipation

Alan

Sponsored Links
Yes it is acceptable to have the gas pipe exposed to the elements. The only unacceptable part is having the pipe work touch any masonry. It should be clipped to the wall but not touching the wall.

thanks for that weargas that has been very helpful

yes the piping is new and nicely clipped away from the wall

Alan

Perfect, that is the way we like it because gas is explosive but if it doesn't attain the explosive mixture it is relatively harmles. Inside your house a leak could cause an explosion outside vertually impossible. Love it.

Customers fequently question me on this. The most notable recent example, after I had explained it to him still thought he new better saying he had never heard of that.

We do all this expensive training to keep you lovely people safe and sound in your houses and get it thrown back in our faces by knowitalls.

Sponsored Links
I had this with a customer, 12ft of external gas pipe to feed his new boiler. He made me box it in, and stain it! Looked horrendous but he loved it.

Paul Barker said:
On which subject wouldn't it be fun to have a knowitall forum.

But if everyone knewitall who would ask the questions :evil: :evil:

on a safety note,