FIAT PUNTO WIPER MECHANISM

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
HI There,

I wonder if anyone could help. Basically just one of the windscreen wiper blades does not work on my Fiat Punto Sporting. I have looked under the bonet and one of the arms has fell out of the ball joint on the wiper mechanism. Would I need to buy the complete mechanism and motor. Or could I just replace the arm. I'm not very good with car repairs, but would this be an easy thing to do?

Cheers,
Simon.

Sponsored Links
Its a pig of a job and you need to replace the whole mechanism.
Its around £100 if i remember right.
The way we got round it was to drill and tap the ball of the joint, and whack a bolt through it to stop the linkage falling off............... sod paying fiat that much for a new mechanism!

Hi,

My daughter's Punto had the same problem. I refitted the arm to the ball joint a few times, with the aid of a large pair of pump pliers, but in the end had to buy a new motor/mechanism, for about £60 I think.

If they had designed the mechanism so that the arm lay on top of the ball joints instead of hanging off underneath then a loose joint wouldn't be such a problem.

Fitting the wipers is dead simple with only a couple of bolts. However removing the black plastic closure strip is indeed a pig, so remember the elastoplast.

Rgds.

Its a pig of a job and you need to replace the whole mechanism.
Its around £100 if i remember right.
The way we got round it was to drill and tap the ball of the joint, and whack a bolt through it to stop the linkage falling off............... s** paying fiat that much for a new mechanism!

Hi Neo,

I've got the same problem at the moment.
How did you manage to drill the ball of the joint? Did you have to dismantle it first?

Sponsored Links
I've done that job on the 99 on model (MK2) and it's a piece of cake. No need to replace whole mechanism, I got the arm from Fiat for a few pounds.