Fire Rated Spots - Definitive answer anyone?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a fully qualified electrician and have had my own company for a number of years.

No problems previously, but I've just come across a tyrant of a building control officer, who is refusing to issue a certificate of completion for a kitchen extension that I have wired. This is on the basis that the four spot lights within the kitchen area are non-fire rated?

I know that it is preferable to fit fire rated, but in this case I didn't feel it was required, the extension is single story, and there is no other room above it?

Also, he says that fire rated would be better because this would not allow steam from the kitchen to get behind the spot (what?), but no tilting fire rated spots as this would make the steam problem even worse (what planet?).

Does anyone have a definitive answer to this one, it seems everyone has their own ideas?

Thanks in advance

Anthony

Sponsored Links
Regardless of what anyone on here says, you are going to have to do what the inspector wants to get the cert. Personally I think he is wrong but what he says goes I'm afraid.

I'm in agreement Davy, thats what i'll be doing. Just seems ridiculous to have such poor clarity on an issue like this.

Ultimately, even though I know that the inspector is wrong, it makes my company look like a fool to the customer, and is added expense.

There are plenty of cases where inspectors enforce rules that they themselves have misinterpreted. The main offender being the new socket heights as per Part M. It's irritating, but going along with the inspector is still cheaper than fighting them over it.

Sponsored Links
It sounds as if your BCO is using a different reg than fire/sound in this instance. There is a reg (don't know which one though :confused: ) that says that you must not allow moisture ingress into a loft space from any rooms below, hence no extractor fans venting onto loft space and also sealed lighting.