Fitting Lino

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Good evening

I am a DIY beginner so please be a patient.
Looking to change the lino in the kitchen and bathroom and wondered how hard the process is.

Does anyone have any tips?

Thanks

George

Sponsored Links
do it in the garden.

lay new lino on top of old lino and mark round it

cut with sharp utility knife

You do it in the garden as cutting the loge carpet while cutting linio does not go down to well (no, i didnt do it)

and dont turn the lino over buth should be face up or face down (not one of each)

fitting lino is very difficult. even seasoned carpet fitters frown upon, and shy away from fitting the stuff.

you have been warned.

ah, but he said change it, which imply he has one fitted already, hence use it as a template

Sponsored Links
If using as template I would cut over size, then trim when laying. Unlike carpet 1 wrong cut & it will show, Get it laid by a pro worth it.

mine was fine, using method i suggested, but yes do be carefull

breezer said:
do it in the garden.

lay new lino on top of old lino and mark round it

cut with sharp utility knife

You do it in the garden as cutting the loge carpet while cutting linio does not go down to well (no, i didnt do it)

and dont turn the lino over buth should be face up or face down (not one of each)
was you drunk while writing this ? need a little editing i think ;) Any way. are you talking about lino or vinyl? lino cant be bent with out cracking as vinyl is flexible! Either way i advice you to template if diy. But make a template , dont use carpet you took up. If you dont know how to template ask and either i or someone will tell you how.

mattysupra said:
was you drunk while writing this ?

no, despite my user name i dont drink

mattysupra said:
need a little editing i think ;)
I am bad with spelling (at least my grammer is better than yours)

mattysupra said:
But make a template , dont use carpet you took up.

Why make a template when he has one?