Flat roof reconstruction - advice needed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My Dad has a 40 year old free-standing Banbury sun room in his garden with a sagging and leaking flat roof. The roofing structure is built correctly according to the original plans but the design looks completely inadequate and I'm amazed it's stayed up as long as it has.

I'm intending to strip the whole roof off including the structural timbers, redesign the structure and renew the plywood deck and felt covering.

I've not done as big a job as this before, although I'm a pretty competent carpenter and diy-er and it's well within my capabilities. What I really need is some info on how to design the structure (rafter size, spacing etc) how to fit the soffits, fascias etc...and of course what sort of covering to use. For the covering I'm looking for something that won't be too difficult to install (and I'm assuming hot bitumen might be a bit beyond me!) and that will last about 10 years (I imagine eventually the sun room will be demolished so the roof doesn't have to last forever).

I'd be really grateful for any advice or if anyone can recommend books, websites or leaflets.

Many thanks,

Bob.

Sponsored Links
Any photo ? or room size ? When you say a sun room do you mean a conservatory type ? Is the room part of a extension with no inner back door or patio door ?

Thanks for the reply. No photos at the moment although I could take some tomorrow and post them if that would be useful.

It's actually a completely free-standing building, about 5m x 3m. The front (one of the 5m sides) has double doors in the middle with windows on each side of the doors that take up the whole of the rest of the front.

The other 3 sides are solid with no doors or windows. The back, where the gutter is, is right up against the garden fence, so the gutter can only be accessed from the roof. I'm thinking of changing the construction so the gutter's at the front for easier access.