ford ka squeal from engine in wet

Joined
29 Dec 2005
Messages
47
Reaction score
0
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
hi

I have a 1998 ford ka. When the roads are wet and I accellerate sometimes I get a screech from the engine.

I thought that it would be a fan belt slipping, however, I have looked around the radiator and I can't see a fan belt!!

Could it be that the timing belt is slipping and needs replacing?

I there anything else that could cause this?

thanks,

Matt
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
15 Nov 2005
Messages
78,007
Reaction score
4,943
Location
Goodwood
Country
Cook Islands
loose rubber belt that drives the alternator.

you will find the squeals gets louder/quieter when you turn the headlamps on/off.



it won't be the cambelt as it has teeth.
 
Joined
31 Aug 2006
Messages
59
Reaction score
0
Location
Buckinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
The fans of modern cars are driven by electric motors so there is no fan belt as such. There is usually an auxiliary drive belt to turn alternator, power steering pump, air con etc. Don't know details for your Ka. Look on the side of the engine rather than the front.

The timing belt will be under a sturdy cover and not open to the elements. It is toothed and cannot slip unless there has been a catastrophic failure in belt tension. If it does slip the engine will not work and is likely to be severely damaged. What I am saying is it's not your timing belt.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
29 Dec 2005
Messages
47
Reaction score
0
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks guys.

At least my engine isn't about to explode!

Do I need to replace the alternator belt then?

Looking back it only happens when headlights are on!

Thank again!
 
Joined
17 Nov 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, i have the same issue and the haynes manual.
In order to reach the tensioner on the ka it seems you have to remove the right hand side headlamp and inorder to do that it seems that you have to remove the front bumper, this seems a bit of a process to just gain access to it so i was wondering if anyone knows if there is an easier way or if this is the correct procedure?
 
Sponsored Links
Top