Fridge freezing up and always running - confirmation of diag

Joined
19 Sep 2009
Messages
49
Reaction score
2
Location
Aberdeen
Country
United Kingdom
Dear All

I have an old fridge which is always running and is frosting up at the back. My thinking is that it is the thermostat? Does anyone agree with me?

The next question is, do you know if I can replace it with any thermostat, or must it be the same model as the one already in place? It seems that a new one will be about £70 and I don't want to take the risk. The fridge is so old, i might be tempted to put my hands in my pocket for a new one... although would much rather fix it.

Al
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
7 Feb 2008
Messages
23,648
Reaction score
4,702
Location
Northumberland
Country
United Kingdom
I agree with you - especially if you can't hear a click when the dial is turned.
If you remove the stat and take it to a white goods repairer they'll likely fix you up with something that will do.
John :)
 
Joined
19 Sep 2009
Messages
49
Reaction score
2
Location
Aberdeen
Country
United Kingdom
Dear All,

I am getting a little confused. The thermostat on my unit is a K57. But when I phone a parts supplier they are telling me that a K59 will be fine. However, one guy (who has a very good price for the K57) said that they are different and I should go for the K59. They look they same, they have the same attachments and it will fit into the housing on the fridge, so I do not know what to do.

Any tips?

Al
 
Joined
7 Feb 2008
Messages
23,648
Reaction score
4,702
Location
Northumberland
Country
United Kingdom
Seriously I doubt if you would notice the difference, but if it was mine I would go with the original K57.
The manufacturers are the ones to know :p
John :)
 
Joined
19 Sep 2009
Messages
49
Reaction score
2
Location
Aberdeen
Country
United Kingdom
but do you know what the differences are? one is a 'cut in' and the other is a 'constant differential'.... i am clueless ;)

Cheers

Al
 
Joined
7 Feb 2008
Messages
23,648
Reaction score
4,702
Location
Northumberland
Country
United Kingdom
Thee and me both, Al - but a thermostat is a thermostat at the end of the day, and the only differences will be the hysteresis (thats the range of temperatures where the stat cuts out, and then back in again) and the rate at which it switches - the latter being more important for an auto defrost system, I guess.
Personally I think you could use either one - it will do the same job - so its now down to price and availability.
You could maybe try espares......not always the cheapest but quick to deliver.
John :)
 
Joined
30 Nov 2011
Messages
907
Reaction score
109
Location
Merseyside
Country
United Kingdom
Given its an old fridge I would suspect the main compressor is becoming weak and so it then continually runs as the evaporator plate temp is insufficient to switch the stat off thus it then build's up a large amount of ice on the back wall.
 
Sponsored Links
Top