fully pumped or gravity fed

Joined
13 Jan 2006
Messages
49
Reaction score
0
Location
Down
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Looking at the pics would someone be able to tell me which type of CH i have, just moved to a new house and I have a Hortsmann centaurplus c27 programmer which looks to be set to gravity fed, meaning i cant have CH and HW on individually, I have the jumper switch to set it to fully pumped but don't want to do this until i know for sure what type of system i have. If it is fully pumped what changes if any would i need to make to the wiring configuration to allow me to operate CH and HW individually.



Thanks for your time and expertise.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
13 Jan 2006
Messages
49
Reaction score
0
Location
Down
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks Dan, The horstmann programmer install book shows the following 3 wiring diagrams for fully pumped systems. Any ideas as to which one i need and what wires would need to move where from how its wired at the minute.

Many Thanks.

 
Joined
26 Oct 2007
Messages
4,900
Reaction score
426
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
Try refittin the prog and then turn on the CH only, (set to fully pumped on back of prog) see if it works
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
8 Apr 2008
Messages
10,707
Reaction score
2,703
Location
Essex
Country
United Kingdom
You need number 6 on the pic you posted, the wiring looks ok apart from the extra wire you have on 3, you might have to trace how its wired up.
 
Joined
18 Nov 2007
Messages
9,455
Reaction score
2,017
Location
Lincolnshire
Country
United Kingdom
Looks to be fully pumped but wired so you can't have CH separately. I'm assuming that's why you have more than one wire in the HW on terminal.
 
Joined
14 Nov 2007
Messages
1,660
Reaction score
256
Location
Buckinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
A picture of pump and motorised valve would be good.

Either of two red wire into HOT ON number 3 should be in number 1 if there is a mid position valve fitted. A check /photos on wiring centre would be good.

Daniel.
 
Joined
13 Jan 2006
Messages
49
Reaction score
0
Location
Down
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks for all the help so far.

twgas, i set the programmer to fully pumped and put CH on but boiler did nothing.

stardanny, not sure what you mean by wiring centre (sorry), if you can point me in the right direction i will get some pics which might help, have taken a few more of the boiler itself which may help, or not!

 
Joined
14 Nov 2007
Messages
1,660
Reaction score
256
Location
Buckinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
Where the other motorised valve? You look like zone valve so there should be two, one for hot water and one for heating.

Take a overview picture of boiler with pump and pipe work and another picture of hot water cylinder with pipe work as well.
Daniel.
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top