1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Fused plug onto motion sensor security light

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Graeme, 22 Dec 2019.

  1. Graeme

    Graeme

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2002
    Messages:
    268
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Received a 30 watt 200 volt motion sensor security light in the post, which has been shipped with bare cables at the end.

    It is not going direct to a switch, but to a plug which will be left on all the time.

    What size of amp fuse should I put inside the plug please?

    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,817
    Thanks Received:
    1,962
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    3A or less.
    But if it's only 200 volts, it won't be of any use in the UK.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Graeme

    Graeme

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2002
    Messages:
    268
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. I will put in a 3A fuse.

    Sorry, I meant 220 volts, 200 was the incandescent equivalent.
     
  5. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,987
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Still wrong though. The UK uses 240v.
     
  6. Astra99

    Astra99

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    898
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you sure, Winston1? I am pretty sure that the whole of the EU standardised some years ago on 230V +10%/-6%. This would allow a maximum RMS voltage of 253 and a minimum of 217 (rounded up).
     
  7. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,456
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In Winstonland there is only one voltage.
     
  8. Risteard

    Risteard

    Joined:
    18 Jun 2010
    Messages:
    2,177
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    Derry, Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    It uses 230V.

    The continent and the south of Ireland historically used 220V, which is also 230V now.
     
  9. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,987
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Indeed but if you measure the UK voltage it is (still) around 240v.
    But the fact of the matter is that something rated at 220v (probably from China) should not be used in the EU.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,987
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    NI historically used 230v.

    UK mainland historically used 240v and if you ever visit bring a meter and measure it now. Nothing's changed
     
  12. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,587
    Thanks Received:
    2,551
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Winston

    What would you say to a person living in the UK whose mains supply voltage is about 225 volts for most of the time. ?

    Should he complain to his DNO that he is not getting 240 volts which you claim is the voltage the UK operates on.

    If he took the supplier to court for breach of the supply contract would you be prepared to provide "expert witness" support to his claim in the court room. ?
     
  13. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    73,564
    Thanks Received:
    4,241
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Winston is not familiar with the term "GB."
     
  14. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    5,288
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WRONG
    WRONG
    So why didn't you say that in the first place, rather than make stupid statements?
     
  15. Risteard

    Risteard

    Joined:
    18 Jun 2010
    Messages:
    2,177
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    Derry, Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    They all harmonised on 230V. But the tolerances are different. Britain and the Six Counties are +10%/-6%. Others are +6%/-10% and others are +/-10%.
     
  16. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,987
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Britain has more than six counties. Which ones are you referring to?
     
  17. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,987
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I suggest you get your meter calibrated. Usually the GB voltage measures around 245v, below 240 is extremely rare.
     
Loading...

Share This Page