HD tv

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by Infidel, 13 Mar 2010.

  1. Infidel

    Infidel

    Joined:
    7 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    585
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I might be being a bit thick here, we have a samsung tele hd ready with inbuilt freeview tuner.
    We were watching the qualifying for the grand prix this morning and the pictures were stunning, does that mean that I dont need to buy another box to get hd?
    We normally play any blue ray stuff through the PS3 and it works a treat, but was just wondering, confused! Are the BBC transmitting HD on freeview.?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ChrisFrost

    ChrisFrost

    Joined:
    26 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    1,025
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The most likely explanation is that you are seeing the benefit of better quality cameras and editing gear that the TV companies are investing in as part of their upgrades.

    The first TV with a FreeviewHD tuner to be available in the UK is the Panasonic TXP42G20 which launched about a week or two ago according to this web site. If you owned that TV, and your TV region is broadcasting in FreeviewHD, then you might be receiving BBC 1 in HD. If not then it's just standard Freeview.

    To get Freeview HD on your Samsung means adding a box. The Humax Fox-HD-T2 is now available. It is around £170 and includes a recording hard drive.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. FourFootMedia

    FourFootMedia

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just better editing. The BBC aren't even showing F1 in HD :(

    Your HD ready TV is just that, HD ready. You'll need to feed it a HD source to benefit from it (Sky HD/Freesat/Freeview HD/blu-ray/games consoles etc etc)
     
  5. Infidel

    Infidel

    Joined:
    7 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    585
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks chaps I thought that must be the case, it is a very good picture though.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. clemenzina

    clemenzina

    Joined:
    26 May 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If only - that one's just a set-top box with some natty features. amazon are now selling the twin-tuner PVR (recorder) version:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Humax-FOXSA...sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1269545014&sr=1-1-spell

    I'm a PVR nut but unfortunately don't have an HD-capable TV because the old one's too big and heavy to move :cry: otherwise I'd be £240 worse off :LOL:

    clemenzina
     
  8. GaryB

    GaryB

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's a Freesat HD (satellite) PVR, not a Freeview HD PVR. Freeview HD PVRs aren't available yet. They're coming very soon.
     
  9. clemenzina

    clemenzina

    Joined:
    26 May 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Silly me, transposed Freesat. I actually came here looking for moth-deterrent advice - obviously the moths have got everywhere :oops:

    clemenzina
     
  10. GaryB

    GaryB

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I reckon a 12 Bore shotgun would do the trick :D
     
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     

Share This Page