Help needed wiring a ceiling rose light

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I'm a total newbie to electrics and I really need somone's help.
I have a celing light in my lounge that I have replaced.However,I can't figure out which wires go where.
The light is connected to a double gang switch which operates two lights: one in the lounge and one in the kitchen.
I have drawn a diagram to show the situation:
wireing.jpg

From the diagram,I have three sets of wires coming out of the ceiling: a set of red and black wires (with a bare metal earth wire), a set of red,blue and yellow wires (with a bare metal earth wire) from the 2-gang switch and another set of red and black wires (with a bare metal earth wire).

Can anyone explain to me which wires get connected together in the celing rose?

thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
draw a diagram of behind your switch......

i think i know how it is wired, and you will need to identify which cable goes to the kitchen light, either by following the route, or using a multimeter or similar to beep the cable out.

Drawing coming up of the possible wiring method...

Hi and thanks for helping :D

Here's a photo I've just taken of my switch:

1.jpg
]

The yellow wire with the red sleve fell out as I was unscrewing the switch.I thinkI put it back in the right terminal, althoughI'm not 100% sure.

Sponsored Links
As I thought - yep. the yellow and blue wires may be back to front, this will alter which of the switches does the lounge and kitchen. Look at the rear of your switch, you can check the colours.

Hi Lectrician.

Thanks ever so much for helping me.
I really appreciate it.

I'll give it a go and let you know how I get on.

Thanks again.

Ludwig

and remember your earth sleeving, and the yellow and blue are actually live, so need some red sleeving on them.

In looking at the switch, that appears to wired wrong aswell?? I cant see too well at the terminals, cant be sure....