Help, potterton suprima 50 leaking water all over my kitchen

AL

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
As it says really, woke up this morning to a cold house. Go downstairs and boiler reset light is flashing and a large puddle of water under hte boiler. Anyways, I was running late for work and didn't have chance to have a propper look so for now i have isolated the mains supply to the boiler.

So can anyone tell me what the likely suspect is? I am guessing the heat exchanger but i'm no expert, kinda hoping it's just a compression joint that's come undone - wishful thinking. I suppose I'm going to need a plumber :(

Sponsored Links
It could be a joint above the boiler.

If its the c.i. HE then its questionable that the boiler is worth repairing. If it has failed then its usually due to dirt in the system and that needs to be addressed.

I think you need a boiler engineer rather than a plumber!

Tony Glazier

cheers matey,

I've got this afternoon off so i'll take the thing to bits and see if i can see where the leak is. Failing that i suppose i'll have to get a boiler engineer give him my left arm and leg for him to tell me it's all knackered and I need a new boiler :(

Just damn annoying as it's less than 5 years old and this is the second time it's broke on me, first time i had the pcb problem now a leak.

Oh my god, you ain't going to believe this sh*t!

I've gone home and switched into colombo mode (minus the cigar).

Some things just occurred to me:

* It rained a lot last night
* a guy at work infact said it was almost horizontal rain
* The water in my kitchen was clear, not the black gunky stuff that comes out of my heating system, more like rain water you might say?
* The boiler was very wet on the inside, including on top of the heat exchanger but yet no pipework was leaking.......
* I removed the pipe from the fan (temporarily) and a load of clear water ****ed out.